Annual awards for football media

Annual awards for football media

By on Apr 21, 2015 in News | 0 comments

New Zealand’s best examples of football media coverage will again be celebrated with awards for broadcasters, editors, writers and photographers.

The New Zealand Football Media Association is calling for entries covering work published or broadcast in 2014.

Friends of Football support the annual awards and last year hosted the awards ceremony as part of its Celebration of Excellence dinner in Auckland.

There are six media categories: Writer, Regional/Community Writer, Photographer, Radio Broadcaster, Television Broadcaster and Publication of the Year..

The awards cover the 2014 calendar year. Entries for these categories must be received by 5pm, Friday, May 8.

Covering letters may be submitted to help explain the circumstances and context behind an entry but are not compulsory. Send entries to the email or street address listed below. Please include contact details and where your work was published or aired. The categories are:

– Writer of the Year
Open to newspaper, magazine and website journalists. Send five examples of your work. Copies of articles and email links will be accepted.

– Regional/Community Writer of the Year
Open to journalists at regional and community newspapers and publications, and football bloggers. Send five examples of your work. Copies of articles and email links will be accepted. All entries in this category are also eligible for the overall Writer of the Year award.

– Photographer of the Year
Email five examples of your work in jpeg format.

– Audio Broadcaster of the Year
Open to radio and podcast presenters, commentators and reporters. Send three examples of your work.

– Television Broadcaster of the Year
Open to television presenters, commentators and reporters. Send three examples of your work.

– Publication of the Year
Open to all football-related books, booklets and one-off publications. Send one copy to the address below.

The street address for entries is C/- Simon Kay, 23 Coates Rd, Papatoetoe, Manukau 2025. The email address is

Also included in the NZFMA awards are the Jim McMullen Service to Football award and the Programme of the Year.

The Programme of the Year category is open to all New Zealand clubs and federations and covers the 2014 calendar year.

To enter, send three different copies of programmes which appeared in 2014 to Simon Kay, 23 Coates Rd, Papatoetoe, Manukau 2025, or email links for three online programmes to Please include with your entry the names of the person or people who are primarily responsible for putting the programme together. Any queries can be directed to

All entries for this category must be received by 5pm, Monday, May 11.

Since 2000, the winners of this category have included Napier City Rovers, Cambridge, Lower Hutt City, Island Bay United, Petone and the Otago FA. Last year’s winners were WaiBOP United, with Petone and Waitemata highly commended.

The judge had this to say regarding the 2013 entries: “The standard was high and narrowing the entries down to a top three was extremely difficult. Ellerslie, Ngaruawahia, Cambridge and Napier City Rovers all submitted excellent programmes and only narrowly missed making the finalists.

“Waitemata’s full colour 32-page programme clearly requires a phenomenal amount of work to put together and includes match reports for the first team (complete with statistics) and other sides, with a copious number of photos throughout.

“Petone again produced an outstanding entry and must be frontrunners in the way they communicate and market themselves, with their Code Blue newsletter for members and Old Timers, Past Players and Sponsors newsletter. As well as all the usual programme elements done to a high standard, Petone also feature stories by John Bradbury profiling life members or recounting the club’s history, and Sam Boyd’s From The Balcony column.

“But WaiBOP edged it with programmes that delivered everything a good programme should and then some. There was plenty inside to entertain and interest the fans, with highlights including Bruce Holloway’s always informative and topical Remembering Our Heritage stories and the amusing Football Dad column with which many parents will identify.

“Programmes may seem an anachronism in this internet age but still represent an ideal opportunity for clubs to project a professional image to their communities and most of this year’s entries achieve that with aplomb.”

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *