Finalists announced

Finalists announced

By on Oct 14, 2015 in News | 0 comments

New Zealand football will celebrate the sport’s best writers, photographers and broadcasters when the winners of the annual media awards are announced next month.

The NZ Football Media Association has announced finalists in the various categories of the awards which will be incorporated into a Celebration of Excellence dinner to be hosted by the Friends of Football in Auckland on Friday November 6.

The Celebration of Excellence will also see tributes made to All Whites legends Steve Sumner and Brian Turner, and the re-launch of the New Zealand Footballer of the Year trophy.

Finalists in the media awards:

Writer of the Year
Finalists: Michael Burgess (Herald on Sunday), Steven Holloway (Herald Online), Phillip Rollo (Nelson Mail).

Regional/community Writer of the Year
Finalists: Phillip Rollo (Nelson Mail), Anendra Singh (Hawke’s Bay Today), Andrew Voerman (Christchurch Star).

Match Programme of the Year
Finalists: Hawke’s Bay United, edited by Matthew Hastings, Papatoetoe, produced by Andrew Kirk and Dana Jenkins, Waitemata, edited by Mark Reid.

Photographer of the Year
Finalists: Andrew Cornaga (Photosport), Hagen Hopkins (Getty Images), Phillip Rollo (Nelson Mail), Shane Wenzlick (Phototek).

Publication of the Year
To be named at the awards dinner.

Broadcaster of the Year (Audio)
Finalists: Jason Pine (NZME Radio), Gordon Glen Watson  (OFC), Yellow Fever — In The Zone (Dale Warburton, Guy Smith, Evald Subasic and David Cross).

Broadcaster of the Year (Television)
To be named at the awards dinner.

The media awards are previewed in Friends of Football’s free digital magazine, FANZ.

FANZ is published at least three times a year and is available free by downloading it at .

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *