Medal of Excellence

Friends of Football’s premier award is its Medal of Excellence which it presents to those whose contribution to the game in New Zealand is exceptional.


Medal recipients have been:

2019: Carol Waller, international player, national, regional and club administrator (more here).

2018: Barry Smith, football historian.

2017: Warwick Gendall, national administrator and leader.

2016: Bert Ormond, pioneering national league coach and former NZ captain. (Click here for more.)

2015: Brian Turner & Steve Sumner (ONZM), legendary 1982 All Whites. (Click here for more.)

2014: Ivan Vicelich (ONZM), New Zealand’s most capped All White. (Click here for more.)

2013: John Adshead (ONZM), coach of the 1982 All Whites. (Click here for more.)



Every year, Friends of Football considers nominations for its Medal of Excellence before selecting suitable recipients.

If you wish to nominate someone who you believe has made a contribution to football that has significantly helped improve its progress in New Zealand, please let us know. Email, giving details of your nominee.