Media awards to be staged in Wellington

Media awards to be staged in Wellington

By on Oct 31, 2017 in News | 0 comments

New Zealand’s football media will gather on the eve of the All Whites v Peru match to honour those who have served the sport well through writing, editing, broadcasting and photography.

The New Zealand Football Media Association will also reveal who has won the New Zealand Footballer of the Year Trophy.

Nominees for the media awards and guests will find out who has been recognised for their media achievements this year at a function prior to New Zealand Football’s November 10 dinner at Westpac Stadium.

The Footballer of the Year will be unveiled at the main dinner.

The media awards, and the NZ Footballer of the Year award, are being organised with the support of Friends of Football and are again sponsored by Connect NZ, in association with Zoom.

Award nominees

Programme of the Year
Auckland City, edited by Gordon Watson
Papatoetoe AFC Ladies, edited by Andrew Kirk
Waitemata, edited by Mark Reid

Publication of the Year
Fully Committed: The Ben Sigmund Story, by Ben Sigmund and Jason Pine
The ‘History of Eastern Suburbs AFC: 1934 – 2015, by Sam Jeffery and Ernest Wong

Writer of the Year
Michael Burgess (NZ Herald, Herald on Sunday)
John Palethorpe (in the back of the net)
Dave Webster (The JourneyFan)

Community-Internet Writer of the Year
Tracey Hodge (in the back of the net)
Bruce Holloway (in the back of the net)
Phillip Rollo (Nelson Mail))

Photographer of the Year
Andrew Cornaga (Photosport)
Cameron McIntosh (Photomac)
Michael Welsh (Dr Yomcat Shoots)
Shane Wenzlick (Phototek)

Website of the Year, edited by Gordon Watson, edited by Josh Easby, Dave Webster, Yellow Fever

Audio Broadcaster of the Year
Riccardo Ball (TAB Trackside)
Jason Pine (NZME)
Yellow Fever – Phoenix City (Patrick Barnes, Cameron McIntosh, Andrew French and Dave Richardson)

Television Broadcaster of the Year
Jason Pine (Sky TV)
Narelle Sindos (Sky TV)
Gordon Watson (OFC TV)


About the NZFMA

The New Zealand Football Media Association started life as the New Zealand Soccer Writers’ Association and was set up primarily to help sports journalists cover the Rothmans League, founded in 1970 and notable as the country’s first national league in any sport.

The association’s first media awards were made in 1980, with a Writer of the Year and Programme of the Year recognised.

Further categories were added in photography in 1981 and broadcasting in 1986. The awards have since evolved to incorporate publications, a regional-community-website writer category, and website of the year.


About the sponsors

Connect NZ are authorised resellers of the Zoom Video Conferencing suite of products throughout New Zealand, offering affordable plans for all business sizes.

Zoom, the global Video Conferencing company of the year 2017, makes video communications frictionless.

Founded in 2011, Zoom is the leader in modern enterprise video communications, with a secure, easy platform for video and audio conferencing, messaging, and webinars across mobile, desktop, and room systems.

Zoom Rooms is the original software-based conference room solution used around the world in conference, huddle, and training rooms, as well as executive offices and classrooms.

Zoom helps enterprises and organisations bring their teams together to get more done. Over 750,000 organisations use Zoom.


  1. NZFMA Footballer of the Year finalists named | Friends of Football NZ - […] being announced at the 125th anniversary dinner will be the winners of the NZFMA media awards, sponsored by Connect…

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *