NZF Awards – 2010

NZF Awards – 2010

By on Aug 30, 2014 in Awards - NZF/SNZ | 0 comments

New Zealand Football: Nelsen scoops sixth Player of the Year title

Ryan Nelsen picked up the Nike Men’s Player of the Year accolade for the sixth time in his career at the New Zealand Football’s annual awards dinner on Friday night.

The All Whites’ World Cup skipper, who won the award in 2001, 2003, 2005, 2006 and 2009, scooped the award for his influence and performance at the FIFA World Cup and in the English Premiership League for Blackburn Rovers.

Nelsen was doubly rewarded at the red carpet event honouring football’s high achievers in the 2010 calendar year, winning the OFC Player of the Year title for just the second time.

His two-gong haul was matched Ali Riley who won both her third straight Nike Women’s Player of the Year for the time and second consecutive OFC Women’s Player of the Year title.

Tommy Smith prevailed in a very tight field for Nike Young Player of the Year with his World Cup credentials – he played every minute of the campaign – and 30 games for English Championship side Ipswich Town edging two time winner Chris Wood and the goal scoring exploits of Kosta Barbarouses for Brisbane.

Olivia Chance’s match-winning performance in the Women’s Knockout Cup final for Claudelands and standout showings in the FIFA U-17 Women’s’ World Cup earned her the Nike Young Women’s Player of the Year ahead of Anna Green and Rosie White, two players already capped at senior level.

The All Whites’ unbeaten run at the FIFA World Cup saw them pick up the Team of the Year award while Ricki Herbert was named coach of the year for masterminding that campaign and the Wellington Phoenix’s charge into the 2010 A-League playoffs earlier in the year.

The World Cup performances of Michael Hester and Jan Hintz saw them take home the respective honours of Referee and Assistant Referee of the Year, while Jacqui Stephenson was recognised with a NZF Merit Award for her selection as a match official for the upcoming FFIA Women’s World Cup.

Waitakere United’s Allan Pearce collected the ASB premiership’s golden boot trophy, and the 13 goal haul that saw him become the first New Zealander to win that trophy also saw him named the competition’s Player of the Year.

Former Football Fern Renee Leota also collected both the Player of the Year and Golden Boot trophies with a 13 goal haul in the ASB Women’s Youth League.

Versatile and experienced New Zealand futsal international Miro Major picked up the inaugural Futsal Player of the Year award.

The time period covered by the awards is the 2010 calendar year with the exception of the 2010/11 ASB Premiership and ASB Women’s League awards, and the awards for match officials which include the 2010 international year and the 2009-10 national league season.


2010 NZF Awards Winners

Team of the Year
All Whites (2010 FIFA World Cup)

Coach of the Year
Ricki Herbert (All Whites & Wellington Phoenix)

Nike Men’s Player of the Year
Ryan Nelsen (All Whites & Blackburn Rovers)

Nike Women’s Player of the Year
Ali Riley (Football Ferns & FC Gold Pride)

Nike Young Men’s Player of the Year (U-20)
Tommy Smith (All Whites & Ipswich Town)

Nike Young Women’s Player of the Year (U-20)
Olivia Chance (New Zealand U-17 & Claudelands Rovers)

Referee of the Year
Michael Hester

Assistant Referee of the Year
Jan-Hendrik Hintz

ASB Premiership Player of the Year 2010/11
Allan Pearce (Waitakere United)

ASB Women’s Youth League Player of the Year 2010/11
Renee Leota (Capital Football)

ASB Premiership Golden Boot 2010/11
Allan Pearce (Waitakere United) – 13 goals

ASB Women’s Youth League Golden Boot 2010/11
Renee Leota (Capital Football) – 13 goals

Futsal Player of the Year
Miroslav Major (Futsal Whites & East City Futsal)

NZF Merit Award
Jacqui Stephenson for selection as a match official to the FIFA Women’s World Cup Germany 2011


OFC Award Winners

OFC Men’s Player of the Year
Ryan Nelsen (New Zealand)

OFC Women’s Player of the Year
Ali Riley (New Zealand)


New Zealand Soccer Media Association Awards

Programme of the Year
Cambridge FC

Publication of the Year
Ryan Nelsen’s Road to the World Cup with Tony Smith (Hodder Moa)

Writer of the Year
Michael Brown (Herald on Sunday)

Photographer of the Year
Andrew Cornaga (Photosport)

Radio Broadcaster of the Year
Jason Pine (The Radio Network)

TV Journalist of the Year
Andrew Gourdie (TV3)

Jim McMullan Service to Football Award
Iain Gillies

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *