NZF Awards – 2011

NZF Awards – 2011

By on Aug 30, 2014 in Awards - NZF/SNZ | 0 comments

New Zealand Football: New records, new winners at football awards

Winston Reid and Hannah Wilkinson collected multiple honours while Ali Riley and Chris Wood set new records at New Zealand Football’s 2011 awards dinner held at Sky City Hamilton on Thursday night.

West Ham’s Reid, who was ruled out of the All Whites quest to defend their OFC Nations Cup title with a groin injury, picked up the Nike Men’s Player of the Year – voted by a cross-section of the football community – and the inaugural NZPFA Player’s Player of the year award – as voted by his teammates.

Swedish based Ali Riley extended her dominance of the Nike Women’s Player of the Year award winning that category for the fifth time – and fourth in succession – after a WPS-winning season in the USA. However, Riley and her teammates voted defender Abby Erceg the inaugural Football Ferns Players’ Player of the Year, recognising her importance to the team in their World Cup year.

Chris Wood’s scoring exploits in the English Championship and League One throughout 2011 saw the former Hamiltonian become the first person to win three Nike Young Men’s Player of the Year titles, adding another plaque to those won for the 2008 and 2009 calendar years.

The biggest haul of awards went to Hannah Wilkinson who collected three gongs; the Nike Young Women’s Player of the Year and both the ASB Women’s League’s Player of the Year and golden boot trophies following a record goal scoring effort on the domestic front and a breakthrough year with the national team.

The Young All Whites, who progressed to the knockout stages of the FIFA U-17 World Cup in Mexico, were resounding winners of the Team of the Year Award, while the exploits of Auckland City’s dominance at domestic level in 2011 was recognised with Ramon Tribulietx winning Coach of the Year.

A new community focused set of awards saw four winners recognised for their positive impact at the grassroots.

Napier City Rovers recognised with the All Whites Community Impact award for a community based programme delivered to nearly 7000 children in the Hawke’s Bay, while Wellington’s Island Bay United received the Commercial Partnership award for building relationships with Capital Football and the Wellington City Council that resulted in a new artificial turf at Wakefield Park.

The tireless work of Caroline Mason in smoothing the way for a merger between Cashmere Wanderers and Woolston Technical to form Cashmere Technical was recognised with the Volunteer of the Year award while the big community award – the ASB Whole of Football Club of the Year – went to Pukekohe for their best practice implementation of the new junior framework initiatives.

The time period covered by the awards is the 2011 calendar year with the exception of the 2011/12 ASB Premiership and ASB Women’s League awards.


NZF Awards Winners

NZPFA All Whites Players’ Player of the Year  
Winston Reid

Football Ferns Players’ Player of the Year
Abby Erceg

Nike Men’s Player of the Year 
Winston Reid (All Whites & West Ham United)

Nike Women’s Player of the Year  
Ali Riley (Football Ferns & Western New York Flash)

Team of the Year
Young All Whites (NZ U-17)

Coach of the Year  
Ramon Tribulietx (Auckland City)

Nike Young Men’s Player of the Year (U-20)
Chris Wood (All Whites, West Bromwich Albion, Brighton & Birmingham City)

Nike Young Women’s Player of the Year (U-20)   
Hannah Wilkinson (Football Ferns & Northern Football)

ASB Premiership Player of the Year 2011/12
Chris Bale (Waitakere United)

ASB Women’s Youth League Player of the Year 2011/12  
Hannah Wilkinson (Northern Football)

Referee of the Year    
Peter O’Leary

Assistant Referee of the Year
Jan-Hendrik Hintz

NZF Merit Award
Peter O’Leary & Jan-Hendrik Hintz (for selection to the London Olympics)

Futsal Player of the Year
Dylan Manickum

Outstanding Volunteer Award
Caroline Mason (Cashmere Technical)

All Whites Community Impact Award
Napier City Rovers

Commercial Partnership Award   
Island Bay United, Wellington

ASB Whole of Football Club of the Year
Pukekohe AFC, Auckland


NZ Soccer Media Association Awards Categories

Programme of the Year – Napier City Rovers
Publication of the Year – The Waikato Chronicles, by Bruce Holloway
Writer of the Year – Tony Smith (Christchurch Press)
Regional-Community Writer of the Year – Anendra Singh (Hawke’s Bay Today)
Photographer of the Year – Shane Wenzlick (Phototek)
Radio Broadcaster of the Year – Jason Pine (The Radio Network)
Television Broadcaster of the Year – Gordon Glen Watson (Glenstrae Media)
Jim McMullan Service to Football Award – Dave Maisey

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *