NZFMA Footballer of the Year finalists named

NZFMA Footballer of the Year finalists named

By on Nov 2, 2017 in News | 0 comments

The four finalists for the 2016-17 New Zealand Football Media Association Player of the Year have been determined. They are:

  • Abby Erceg
  • Winston Reid
  • Ryan Thomas
  • Chris Wood

The winner will be announced at New Zealand Football’s charity dinner at Wellington’s Westpac Stadium on Friday, November 10 – the night before the home leg of the All Whites’ World Cup playoff with Peru. The function is being held in conjunction with Friends of Football and the NZFMA.

The NZFMA Player of the Year award aims to acknowledge the most successful New Zealand footballer, male or female, at home or abroad, during the 2015-16 season.

Abby Erceg captained the Western New York Flash to the 2016 US NWSL title.

Winston Reid played 30 games to help West Ham place 11th in the English Premier League.

Ryan Thomas was outstanding at the Confederations Cup and helped keep PEC Zwolle in the Dutch Eredivisie.

Chris Wood was the English Championship’s top scorer with 27 goals for Leeds and was shortlisted for the division’s Player of the Year award.

The Player of the Year award was founded in 1970 by the New Zealand Soccer Writers’ Association, the forerunner of the NZFMA, to coincide with the launch of the National League. Previous winners include All Whites greats such as Steve Sumner, Brian Turner and Grant Turner.

After a hiatus of several seasons, the award was revived two years ago, with Winston Reid winning it for the second year running in 2016, ahead of fellow finalists Abby Erceg, Amber Hearn and Chris Wood.

Also being announced at the 125th anniversary dinner will be the winners of the NZFMA media awards, sponsored by Connect NZ in association with Zoom.

Connect NZ are authorised resellers of the Zoom Video Conferencing suite of products throughout New Zealand, offering affordable plans for all business sizes.

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *