Men’s A-League unlikely to include a Canberra club next season

Efforts to award a licence for an A-Leagues expansion club in Canberra appear to have stalled ahead of the 2024-25 season.

A-Leagues commissioner Nick Garcia has issued a statement indicating the men’s A-League will go ahead with 13 teams next season, with the addition of Auckland FC.

“We are still in discussion with a preferred consortium for an A-League licence in Canberra, but they aren’t able to stand up a team in time for season 2024/25,” Garcia said.

“The ACT has a fantastic football fanbase, and we remain committed to Canberra and a fourteenth A-League team. We want to give new owners the proper runway to set up a team to ensure long-term success.

“The preferred consortium has the right capability — a mix of European top-flight experience, and local Canberra knowledge and relationships — and we continue to work with them.”

Of Canberra United and the season ahead, Garcia said:  “Capital Football will continue to oversee and operate Canberra United in season 2024/25. We look forward to working with Capital Football, the ACT Government and other local stakeholders in the coming months ahead of season 2024-25.”

Canberra United finished second bottom of the women’s A-League last season.

More football stories