Venues, schedule and an emblem revealed for FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup

Plans are building for the 2024 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in the Dominican Republic to be attended by 16 nations, including New Zealand.

Tournament organisers have confirmed match venues, a fixture schedule and an emblem to be used to promote the event.

The 2024 tournament will be held from October 16 – November 3, 2024, with games played in the cities of Santiago and Santo Domingo, which are only 150kms apart.

The Cibao University Stadium in Santiago de los Caballeros will be the venue for 15 of the 32 matches, including the first semi-final on Wednesday October 30, 2024.

The Felix Sanchez Stadium in Santo Domingo will host 17 matches, including the second semi-final on Thursday October 31, along with the third-place match and final, both on Sunday November 3.

A match schedule is available here but groups and matchups will be determined in June when the draw takes place in the Dominican Republic.

The tournament emblem has been inspired by ‘batún’, a game played by Taíno people on a central court or plaza using a rubber ball, and the ‘Bachata’ and ‘Merengue’ dances traditional to the host country.

FIFA says the design aims to unite football, dance and local customs to celebrate the world’s best U-17 footballers arriving in the Dominican Republic.

Main photo: The emblem for the 2024 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup. Photo credit: FIFA.

Thirteen nations, including New Zealand, have now booked their places at the tournament.

The only remaining spots are reserved for three African sides who are yet to complete their qualifying tournament.

The New Zealand team, whose head coach will be Canterbury’s Alan Gunn, will represent Oceania and have qualified for all eight editions of the tournament.

The 13 nations who have qualified

  • New Zealand, who qualified by winning the OFC U-16 Women’s Championship in Tahiti in September 2023.

READ MORE: Late winner gets New Zealand through to FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup >>>>

  • Dominican Republic, as the host nation of the tournament.
  • Japan, North Korea and South Korea, who qualified through the 2024 AFC U-17 Women’s Asian Cup in May 2024.
  • Mexico and the United States, who qualified through the 2024 CONCACAF Women’s U-17 Championship in February 2024.
  • Brazil, Columbia and Ecuador, who qualified through the 2024 South American U-17 Women’s Championship, in March 2024.
  • England, Poland and Spain, who qualified through the 2024 UEFA Women’s U-17 Championship, in May 2024.

Who might join them

The three remaining places at the tournament will go to African teams through the 2024 African U-17 Women’s World Cup Qualifying Tournament.

The tournament started in December 2023 and concludes in June 2024. Of the 25 African nations that entered the qualifiers, only six are left with a chance of reaching the World Cup.

They are Burundi, Kenya, Zambia, Morocco, Liberia and Nigeria.

Three nations will be making their first-ever appearance at the U-17 Women’s World Cup — Dominican Republic, Ecuador and Poland.

Changes planned for future U-17 World Cups

The U-17 tournament will become an annual event for 24 nations in 2025 and will be held in Morocco from 2025-29.

Oceania will have two qualifying teams. Other slot allocations will be AFC (4), CAF(5), Concacaf (4), CONMEBOL(4), UEFA (5).

READ MORE: Key decisions made as FIFA releases women’s international calendar >>>>

READ MORE: New Zealand’s pathway to future FIFA U-17 World Cups gets easier >>>>

Main photo credit: FIFA.

Previous winners

2008: DPR Korea
2010: Korea Republic
2012: France
2014: Japan
2016: DPR Korea
2018: Spain
2022: Spain

More football stories