Phoenix set to play Australia Cup tie without their U-23 internationals

posted in: A-League (Men), News

The Wellington Phoenix will have their first competitive outing just a month into pre-season training.

The Phoenix will play South Melbourne at Lakeside Stadium in Melbourne on Tuesday August 6 in the last 32 of the Australia Cup. Kick-off is at 9.30pm (NZT).

The Nix will start pre-season training on Monday July 8 with a threadbare squad as a result of international commitments.

Numbers will be boosted a fortnight later once a few All Whites have been given a brief break following the OFC Nations Cup and after the OFC U-19 Men’s Championship finishes in Samoa.

But head coach Giancarlo Italiano will be unable to call on players who are selected in the New Zealand U-23 men’s squad for the Paris Olympics.

The Phoenix are competing in the Australia Cup for the 10th time.

Wellington have advanced beyond the round of 32 in each of the past three years and won through to the semi-finals of the 2021 Cup.

South Melbourne are the National Premier Leagues (NPL) Victoria leaders and it’s their fourth participation in the final rounds of the Cup.

The four-time National Soccer League (NSL) champions made it all the way to the semi-finals of the 2017 tournament before losing to eventual winners Sydney FC.


Game to be played on Tuesday August 6, 2024

South Melbourne v Wellington Phoenix
Lakeside Stadium, Melbourne, 9.30pm (NZT)

Australia Cup: Round of 32

Moreton City Excelsior v Campbelltown City
NWS Spirit v Glenorchy Knights
O’Connor Knights v Macarthur
Perth Redstar v Lions
Melbourne Srbija v Modbury Jets
Olympic v Apia Leichhardt
Brisbane City v Western Sydney
Heidelberg United v Central Coast
Olympic Kingsway v Edgeworth Eagles
Oakleigh Cannons v Sydney
South Melbourne v Wellington Phoenix
Blacktown City v Adelaide United
Lambton Jaffas v Melbourne Victory
Rockdale Ilinden v Newcastle Jets/Western United*
Brisbane Roar/Perth Glory** v Melbourne City
Darwin Hearts v Hume City

*Jets play Western United in play-off on July 24.
**Brisbane Roar play Perth Glory in play-off on July 23.

More football stories