PREVIEW: Two leaders forge ahead in Lotto NRFL Women’s Championship

By Joan Grey

Onehunga Sports and Tauranga Moana have pulled away as the frontrunners in the Lotto NRFL Women’s Championship, leaving nearest challenger Franklin United in their wake.

Franklin United’s title hopes took a hit after a 4-1 loss to Tauranga last Sunday.

This Sunday, Franklin United welcome Melville United to Drury Sports Complex. Franklin must win to maintain contact with the leading duo.

Last weekend’s action saw Central United seize a last-gasp 1-0 triumph over Northern Rovers, courtesy of a 95th-minute penalty from Sylvia McDougall.

This win, achieved with just a single substitute in dugouts, should inject Central with some spirit when they take on high-flying Tauranga this weekend.

Fresh from their last-minute heartbreak, Northern Rovers also face a tough challenge on Sunday. They’re pitted against the formidable Onehunga Sports side at Onehunga’s hallowed home grounds, Waikaraka Park.

Onehunga Sports boast an impeccable home record and are currently riding a four-game winning streak.

Elsewhere, Birkenhead United will look to capitalise on their matchup against struggling Manukau United.

Golden Boot

11 — Britney Cunningham-Lee (Franklin United)
10 — Annie Byrne (Onehunga Sports)
8 — Holly Patterson (Onehunga Sports)
7 — Kerri-Ann Jones (Tauranga Moana), Laura Bennett (Melville United), Sarah Carpenter (Franklin United)
6 — Grace Duncan (Tauranga Moana), Ivy Calonne (Northern Rovers), Pip Meo (Onehunga Sports)
5 — Jaime Govind (Birkenhead United), Sylvia McDougall (Central United)


Games to be played on Sunday June 30, 2024

Central United v Tauranga Moana
Kiwitea St, Sandringham, 1pm

Franklin United v Melville United
Drury Sports Complex, Drury, 1pm

Onehunga Sports v Northern Rovers
Waikaraka Park, Onehunga, 1pm

Manukau United v Birkenhead United
Walter Massey Park, Manukau, 1pm

Joan Grey

Friends of Football writer Joan Grey loves playing and writing about football.

More football stories