Semi-finalists all have credentials to win this year’s Kate Sheppard Cup

posted in: Kate Sheppard Cup, News

This year’s Kate Sheppard Cup is down to four survivors, with all the semi-finalists bearing credentials as potential cup winners.

in a weekend of quarter-finals, all the ties were won without the need for extra time or penalty shootouts.

Holders Western Springs had to come from behind to beat Franklin United, a team that plays two divisions lower in the Lotto NRFL Women’s Championship.

Georgia Irvine gave the home supporters hope when she put Franklin ahead after only seven minutes.

Megan Lee levelled to send the teams into the break tied 1-1, and in the second half Rina Hirano and Maia Lythe put the result beyond doubt for Springs.

The Wellington Phoenix Reserves have reached the semi-finals at their first attempt, as a rule change has allowed the club to enter the Kate Sheppard Cup for the first time.

A stipulation of entry is the Phoenix must be able to meet the requirement of all players having amateur status, restricting the cup to those not on professional contracts.

The Phoenix went to a 3-0 lead against Wellington’s Waterside Karori who threw everything at the Nix in the game’s dying minutes.

Waterside Karori scored twice to give the Phoenix a late scare but could not force extra time.

Auckland United, winners of the cup in 2022, were expected to have a tough game getting past Northern League rivals West Coast Rangers but they produced a sparkling performance at Keith Hay Park to get home 5-1.

Sunday produced the fourth semi-finalists when Dunedin City Royals beat Cashmere Technical 1-0, thanks to an 88th-minute goal from Shontelle Smith.

The draw for the semi-finals will be made on Tuesday July 9, 2024.

The semi-finalists

Here are the credentials of the remaining cup hopefuls:

Western Springs

  • Won cup twice (2007, 2022).
  • Currently 4th in Lotto NRFL Women’s Premiership.

Auckland United

  • Current leader of Lotto NRFL Women’s Premiership.
  • Won cup 2022, and founding club Three Kings United won four cups (1997, 1998, 1999, 2012).
  • Current OFC Women’s Champions League winners.

Wellington Phoenix

  • First year in the cup.
  • Squad contains many age group internationals.

Dunedin City Royals

  • Currently 2nd in Women’s South Island League.
  • Founding club Dunedin Technical won the cup (2018).



Games played on Saturday July 6, 2024

Franklin United 1 (Georgia Irvine 7′)
Western Springs 3 (Megan Lee 11′, Rina Hirano 67′, Maia Lythe 72′)

Waterside Karori 2 (Emma Kurszona 86′, Kennedy Bryant 90+3′)
Wellington Phoenix Reserves 3 (Ella McCann 34′ pen, Manaia Elliott 58′, 77′)

Auckland United 5 (Alexis Cook 2′, Danielle Canham 22′, Chelsea Elliott 57′, Charlotte Roche 64′, Saskia Vosper 71′)
West Coast Rangers 1 (Emma Kete 30′)

Game played on Sunday July 7, 2024

Dunedin City Royals 1 (Shontelle Smith 88′)
Cashmere Technical 0

Past rounds

RESULTS: Third round of 2024 Kate Sheppard Cup >>>>

RESULTS: Second round of 2024 Kate Sheppard Cup >>>>

RESULTS: First round of 2024 Kate Sheppard Cup >>>>

Key dates

Weekend of August 16-18, 2024

Sunday September 8, 2024

Western Springs … winners of the 2023 Kate Sheppard Cup. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

All the past winners — Kate Sheppard Cup

1994 Nomads United (Christchurch)
1995 Waikato Unicol (Hamilton)
1996 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
1997 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1998 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1999 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2000 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2001 Ellerslie (Auckland)
2002 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2003 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2004 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2005 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2006 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2007 Western Springs (Auckland)
2008 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)

2009 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2010 Claudelands Rovers (Hamilton)
2011 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2012 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2013 Coastal Spirit (Christchurch)
2014 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2015 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2016 Forrest Hill Milford United (Auckland)
2017 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2018 Dunedin Technical (Dunedin)
2019 Eastern Suburbs (Auckland)
2021 Wellington United (Wellington)
2022 Auckland United (Auckland)
2023 Western Springs (Auckland)

More football stories