Eastern Suburbs shooting for back-to-back wins in Kate Sheppard Cup

Eastern Suburbs will try to emulate three other Auckland clubs when they take the next step in their campaign to retain the Kate Sheppard Cup.

The Lilywhites would become only the fourth club to win back-to-back cup finals, joining Lynn-Avon United, Three Kings United and Glenfield Rovers. They won the cup in 2019 and are the current title holders because the trophy was not contested in 2020.

First, they have to reach the final of the prestigious NZ Football Foundation-sponsored trophy by overcoming Wellington United in the long-delayed semi-final tie on Saturday (March 5).

The semi-final was first planned for last August but COVID-19 disruption has hindered the cup’s progress.

For Wellington United, reaching the semi-final is a significant achievement as this is the third time in a row they have made the last four, having done so in 2018 and 2019.

Delays and disruption aside, it’s set to decide who will meet Hamilton Wanderers in the final on March 13.

Wellington United v Eastern Suburbs

Semi-final, Kate Sheppard Cup
Saturday March 5, 2022
Kick-off: 2.45pm
Newtown Park, Wellington
Watch: Sky Sport Next (free to watch).

Watch the game live

Saturday’s semi-final will be broadcast on the Sky Sport Next – YouTube channel which is free to watch.

Tune in by clicking on the following panel on Saturday:

How the teams stack up

  • Wellington United: if they win their semi-final against Eastern Suburbs, and then take the grand final, they’ll become the first team from the capital to take the trophy since the competition began in 1994.
  • Eastern Suburbs plan to retain the trophy and become only the fourth club to win back-to-back finals (along with Lynn-Avon United, Three Kings United and Glenfield Rovers.

The grand final is scheduled for Sunday March 13 with the venue and kick off time to be announced after finalists are known.

How they got to the semi-finals

Wellington United

Round 1: Beat Kapiti Coast United 8-0 (home)
Round 2: Beat Waterside Karori 3-2 (home)
Round 3: Beat Marist Palmerston North 4-3 (away)
Quarter-final: Beat Wairarapa United 5-1 (home)

Eastern Suburbs

Round 2: Beat Northland 4-0 (away)
Round 3: Beat Papakura City 2-1 (home)
Quarter-final: Beat Western Springs 2-0 (away)

The final

Hamilton Wanderers are already through to the final, having beaten Coastal Spirit 3-1 in their semi-final.

See the video replay of their semi-final here:

Hamilton Wanderers

Round 2: Beat Bucklands Beach 9-1 (away)
Round 3: Beat Auckland United 4-1 (home)
Quarter-final: Beat Ellerslie 3-1 (home)
Semi-final: Beat Coastal Spirit 3-1 (away)

The Hamilton Wanderers squad … waiting to learn who they’ll play in the final.

All the Kate Sheppard Cup results

Click here for full results at the UltimateNZSoccer website >>>>

Past winners

1994 Nomads United (Christchurch)
1995 Waikato Unicol (Hamilton)
1996 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
1997 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1998 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1999 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2000 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2001 Ellerslie (Auckland)
2002 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2003 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2004 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2005 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2006 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2007 Western Springs (Auckland)
2008 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2009 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2010 Claudelands Rovers (Hamilton)
2011 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2012 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2013 Coastal Spirit (Christchurch)
2014 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2015 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2016 Forrest Hill Milford United (Auckland)
2017 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2018 Dunedin Technical (Dunedin)
2019 Eastern Suburbs (Auckland)


The Kate Sheppard Cup is supported by the NZ Football Foundation.

More football stories