Second round of award winners revealed by Capital Football

posted in: Events, Recognition

Capital Football have revealed a second tranche of winners in their series of 34 awards to recognise on-field and off-field achievement in their region.

Due to twice having to postpone a live awards function due to COVID restrictions, the federation have decided to unveil their winners in a series of social media posts in the week commencing March 20, 2022.

There are 34 award categories as well as six club service awards and the Central and W-league Select XI’s.

You can follow the awards as they roll out by going to Capital Football’s Facebook page or by searching #CFAwards21.

Click here to see the first tranche of award winners >>>>

Here are the award recipients from the second tranche:

Club Service Award — Phil Pickering (Petone)

“Phil has been involved with the club for over 60 years with the odd gap here and there. He is a life member (1989) and still contributes significantly to the running of the club. Phil began his administrative career as a teenager on the junior management committee and has been involved in running pub raffles, bottle drives, etc, and heavily involved in working bees over the years. Phil was the bar manager for many years (and still organises all the stock), chaired the supporters club, and this year is his final year as Men’s 1st team manager – a role he has performed with distinction over the years.”

Kāpura Administrator of the Year — Leanne Smith (Wainuiomata)

“Chosen for this award by public vote, Leanne has been the Wainuiomata AFC Junior Convenor for well over 10 years as well as taking on a variety of other roles within the club. This year, in addition to the Junior Convenor role, she took on the role of Senior Club Administrator and has done an outstanding job in both roles. Aside from the huge time commitment required to effectively fulfil these roles, Leanne also had to quickly come to grips with the substantial requirements associated with having a Central League team. Her commitment and enthusiasm have been major factors in the growth and success of the club. Leanne is a truly worthy recipient of this award.”

Main photo: Leanne Smith. Image: Imray Snaps.

Central League Golden Boot — George Ott (Lower Hutt City)

Scoring a total of 21 goals in the season, George outscored the rest of the competition by some margin to become the league’s top goal scorer!

W-League Golden Boot — Torijan Lyne-Lewis (Wairarapa United)

Snapping up 18 goals in the season, TJ tops the leaderboards for the league’s top goal scorer!

Save of the Year — Scott Basalaj (Wellington Olympic)

Chosen by public vote, Scott Basalaj’s Save of the Year was made during Olympic’s match against title rivals Miramar Rangers to help keep the score at 0-0.

Watch the save at Capital Football’s Facebook page >>>>

Wairarapa Local League Player of the Year — Landon Palmer (Masterton AFC)

“An outstanding player for the blues, key to his team’s success in the league.”

Women’s 1-3 Player of the Year — Jemma Hall (Wellington Utd)

“Jemma was a key player in the championship-winning side, Wellington United Opals.”

Matchday Programme of the Year — Stop Out

“Stop Out consistently produces a high-quality programme for each of their home matches which highlights all areas of the club. The content is always engaging and very well presented. The design elements of the programme are fantastic and match the theme of the club. A great read for anyone who finds themselves at Hutt Park on matchday.”

Men’s Futsal Player of the Year — Sean Beresford (Capital Futsal)

With 75 caps to his name, Sean was the standout player across the Capital Futsal Men’s SuperLeague campaign in goal.

More football stories