Popular administrator steps down after 25 years of continuous service to football

posted in: News, Recognition

Auckland’s Sunday league football community have big boots to fill with the decision by administrator Trev Brook to step down after 25 consecutive years of service.

The long-time competitions manager for the Auckland Sunday Football Association was given a standing ovation by a packed audience at Sunday’s finals day prizegiving at Oratia United’s clubrooms as he ended his term as a volunteer.

Brook, a passionate Newcastle United supporter, has been a LIfe Member of ASFA since 2008.

His role as competitions manager has been filled within the association but the ASFA executive committee are seeking ‘fresh blood’ to help keep the four-division Sunday leagues vibrant.

The new league season starts on Sunday May 8.

Secretary Rich Wright says the ASFA would benefit from having new volunteers to help steer the organisation which has provided Sunday football since its inception in 1975.

“I am quick to point out that we’re not expecting anyone to commit for 25 years like Trev,” Wright assures interested parties.

ASFA has a good record of long-serving enthusiasts.

Joining Brook at Sunday’s prizegiving was fellow Life Member Craig Harrison who also served on the executive committee for 25 years, stepping down in 2019.

Main photo: Trevor Brook addresses a packed clubroom at ASFA’s prizegiving.

How to help

If you want to express interest in joining ASFA’s executive, or wish to learn more about the group, you can find contact details at their website here >>>>

The group also has a Facebook page which you can find by searching for @NZASFA.

Finals day

Click here for match reports and photographs from the ASFA finals day >>>>

Click here for results from ASFA finals day >>>>

ASFA Life Members

Year awarded in brackets

Stuart McMonagle (1982)
Glen Town (1992)
Chris Heilbronn (1994)
Dave Baker (2000)
Ash Connor (2001)
Bernard Howe (2003)
Jim Jacobs (2004), Craig Harrison (2004)
Oliver Brinkmann (2008), Warwick Eade (2008), Trevor Brook (2008)
John Tik (2009), Tony Goulding (2009)
Mike Hayes (2012), Morgan Breuer (2012)
Graham “Butch” Whitford (2015), Anthony Barnes (2015)
Stephanie Brown (2016), Roy Salleh (2016)
Ash Maharaj (2019), Matt Hunt (2019)

More football stories