Front-runners emerge in new-look NRF Women’s Championship

posted in: News

By Joan Grey

Onehunga Sports and Hibiscus Coast are the early pace-setters in the 2022 NRF Women’s Championship, which sits immediately below the elite eight-team Lotto NRFL Women’s Premier League.

The 2022 reconfiguration of the Women’s upper leagues has 11 teams competing in a Championship round-robin.

Once completed in late July, the table will divide into top and bottom Championship and Conference divisions. In each of these, the teams will play a further round-robin competition, home and away, with the Championship teams battling for the prospect of promotion to the Lotto NRFL Women’s Premier League.

Championship teams Onehunga Sports and Hibiscus Coast have emerged as the front-runners. These two unbeaten teams are yet to play each other.

With 24 goals scored in just four matches, Hibiscus Coast appear a formidable force.

Onehunga Sports were last year’s Championship runners-up, missing promotion by a single point. This year, they are back with a vengeance and an impressive five wins.

Notable contenders Fencibles United and Franklin United are also off to strong starts.

Main photo: File image of Onehunga Sports courtesy of Phototek.

How they stand

More football stories