Auckland City learn their opponents for August’s OFC Champions League

posted in: News

Auckland City will play clubs from Fiji, New Caledonia and the Cook Islands in their pool games at the OFC Champions League tournament in August.

The draw for the competition was made on Thursday June 30, splitting the eight qualifying clubs into two groups.

All games will be played in Auckland, probably over a 10-day period.

No team was seeded so it was an open draw.

Group A

AS Vénus (Tahiti) — runners-up 2020-21 Tahiti Ligue 1

Lae City (Papua New Guinea) — 2021 PNG National Socer League champions

Central Coast (Solomon Islands) — 2021 Solomon Islands S–League champions

Galaxy (Vanuatu) — 2021 VFF National Super League champions

Group B

Auckland City — National League champions

Hienghène Sport (New Caledonia) — 2021 New Caledonia Super League champions

Nikao Sokattak (Cook Islands) — 2021 Cook Islands Round Cup champions

Rewa (Fiji) — runners-up 2021 Fiji Premier League

Tournament details

The Oceania Football Confederation say the dates and venues for the Auckland tournament will be announced soon.

More football stories