Wellington Phoenix aim to include Auckland again as fixtures are revealed

posted in: Events, News

The Wellington Phoenix will play 12 games on home soil — including one in Auckland — when the 2022-23 Isuzu UTE A-League season gets underway in October.

The Auckland game, subject to confirmation of venue, will either be in January or March next year.

A first full home season in four years becomes a reality with Australian Professional Leagues (APL) announcing the season draw with the Phoenix scheduled to play 12 regular season matches in Aotearoa this season, after being forced to play 85% of their ‘home’ games in Australia the past two campaigns.

Ten matches are planned for Sky Stadium in Wellington, with two games to be taken to other parts of the motu, subject to finalising venue availability.

All of the men’s home fixtures will kick-off at the family-friendly time of 3pm to accommodate fans of all ages.

The Phoenix will open their 2022-23 season at Sky Stadium against Adelaide United on Sunday, October 9 and they will play a further three Sunday afternoon matches in Wellington over the following five weeks before the A-League breaks for the FIFA World Cup in November.

After the three-week break the Nix are taking a game to WIN Stadium in Wollongong as part of the commitment the club made to the region for hosting the men and women the past two seasons.

Ufuk Talay’s side will return to Sky Stadium the following week (December 17) and will also open the New Year in the capital with a match against 2021 champions Melbourne City on January 2.

Venues still to be confirmed for matches out of Wellington

The venues for the Phoenix’s next three home matches in late January and early March have yet to be confirmed due to stadium availability, but plans are in place for the team to return to Auckland.

The club hopes to finalise the details of these fixtures in the coming weeks.

The team’s final three regular season fixtures in Aotearoa this season are scheduled to be played at Sky Stadium in March and April, with potential finals matches to follow in May.

General manager David Dome has welcomed the draw announcement.

“The club is truly excited about returning home for a full season after so many years away,” Dome said. “Members and fans have been so supportive through these last three difficult seasons and we want to repay their faith.

“Along with our partners, we are looking at some really cool initiatives this season which we can’t wait to get in front of fans and members – starting with season ticket renewals beginning this Monday!

“If I look at the team Ufuk is assembling and how they are looking in pre-season, we will be challenging come the pointy end of the season.

“I can’t remember a season I have looked forward to quite as much.”

Season schedule

Wellington Phoenix men’s draw 2022-23 (home games in bold, kick-off times in NZT):

Sunday, October 9 vs Adelaide United at Sky Stadium – 3pm
Sunday, October 16 vs Central Coast Mariners at Sky Stadium – 3pm
Saturday, October 22 vs Newcastle Jets at McDonald Jones Stadium – 7pm
Sunday, October 30 vs Melbourne City at AAMI Park – 7pm
Sunday, November 6 vs Macarthur FC at Sky Stadium – 3pm
Sunday, November 13 vs Western United at Sky Stadium – 3pm
FIFA World Cup break – November 18 – December 8
Saturday, December 10 vs Western Sydney Wanderers at WIN Stadium – 7pm
Saturday, December 17 vs Adelaide United at Sky Stadium – 3pm
Friday, December 23 vs Perth Glory at HBF Arena – 9:45pm
Monday, January 2 vs Melbourne City at Sky Stadium – 3pm
Saturday, January 7 vs Sydney FC at Allianz Stadium – 7pm
Saturday, January 14 vs Brisbane Roar at Moreton Daily Stadium – 7pm
Sunday, January 22 vs Central Coast Mariners at TBC venue – 3pm
Saturday, January 28 vs Perth Glory at TBC venue – 3pm
Friday, February 3 vs Melbourne Victory at AAMI Park – 9:45pm
Sunday, February 12 vs Macarthur FC at Campbelltown Stadium – 7pm
Friday, February 17 vs Western United at venue TBC – 9:45pm
Friday, February 24 vs Central Coast Mariners at Central Coast Stadium – 9:45pm
Saturday, March 4 vs Newcastle Jets at TBC venue – 3pm
Sunday, March 12 vs Sydney FC at Sky Stadium – 3pm
Friday, March 17 vs Adelaide United at Coopers Stadium – 9:45pm
FIFA international break – March 20-28
Saturday, April 1 vs Melbourne Victory at Sky Stadium – 3pm
Monday, April 10 vs Melbourne City at AAMI Park – 6pm
Sunday, April 16 vs Brisbane Roar at Sky Stadium – 3pm
Friday, April 21 vs Western Sydney Wanderers at CommBank Stadium – 9:45pm
Sunday, April 30 vs Macarthur FC at Campbelltown Stadium – 7pm

Credit

This story is published with the help of the Wellington Phoenix.

Visit the Phoenix Kit Hub

Here’s where you can buy your Wellington Phoenix apparel:

More Phoenix stories

 

More football stories