Four New Zealand referees among the officials for the OFC Champions League

posted in: News, Referees

Four New Zealand referees have been named in the group of 18 officials who will control this month’s OFC Champions League matches in Auckland.

Matthew Conger and Campbell Kirk Kawana Waugh, who officiated at the FIFA Oceania World Cup qualifiers in Qatar this year, are in the pool of 10 referees named for the tournament.

Mark Rule and Isaac Trevis are in the list of assistant referees.

Main photo: Matthew Conger … to referee at the OFC Champions League tournament. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

The officials have been selected from the eight OFC member nations for the two-week tournament that runs from August 4-17. All games will be played at Ngahue Reserve, Auckland.

Auckland City will represent New Zealand at the tournament, with the winning club earning qualification to the FIFA Club World Cup in China.

READ MORE: Click here for OFC Champions League tournament teams and match schedule >>>>

OFC Champions League referees

Ben AUKWAI (SOL) , Kavitesh BEHARI (FIJ), Matthew CONGER (NZL), Norbert HAUATA (TAH), Campbell Kirk KAWANA WAUGH (NZL), Mederic LACOUR (NC), Teremoana ROIHAU (TAH), Veer SINGH (FIJ), David YAREBOINEN (PNG), Timothy NIU (SOL).

OFC Champions League assistant referees

Bertrand BRIAL (NCL), Tevita MAKASINI (TGA), Folio MOEAKI (TGA), Bernard MUTUKERA (SOL), Avinesh NARAYAN (FIJ), Philippe REVEL (TAH), Mark RULE (NZL), Malaetala SALANOA (SAM), Stephen SENIGA (SOL), Isaac TREVIS (NZL).

More football stories