NRF Women’s Championship to split into two competitions for rest of season

posted in: News

By Joan Grey

The NRF Women’s Championship has split into two competitions for the rest of the season, based on current table positions.

Northern Region Football has announced the next stage of the season will see the top six teams on the table remain in the championship league and the bottom five form a conference league.

All points carry through from the season’s games so far, and each championship team will play each other once, as will the conference teams.

The NRF Women’s Championship teams are competing for promotion. The winning team will be promoted to the LOTTO NRFL Women’s Premier League for 2023.

For the conference teams, the winner will play off against the winner of the WaiBOP W-League for a spot in the Championship 2023.

These top six stay in the Women’s Championship for the remainder of the season:

1. Hibiscus Coast
2. Onehunga Sports
3. Franklin United
4. Manukau United
5. Central United
6. Fencibles United

League table

Here’s how the table looks at the time of the split into two competitions: