Sports awards recognise achievers from Bucklands Beach and Fencibles United

posted in: News, Recognition

Five members from Bucklands Beach and Fencibles United have been recognised for their contributions to football and their local community at this year’s Howick Sports Awards.

They were all nominated for awards and two were successful when winners were announced at the awards function held at Pakuranga Rugby Club in late August 2022.


The winners were:

  • Administrator of the Year: Andy Pullar (Bucklands Beach)
  • Volunteer of the Year: Mike Hawkey (Fencibles United)

Andy Pullar is the president of Bucklands Beach, while Mike Hawkey is the youth boys’ club captain at Fencibles United.

Mike Hawkey (Volunteer of the Year). Image: NRF.


Finalists in their categories at the awards included:

  • Rachel Penney (Bucklands Beach) — nominated for Volunteer of the Year
  • Zoe Benson (Bucklands Beach) — nominated for Junior Sportswoman of the Year
  • Darryl Hamilton (Fencibles United) — nominated for Coach of the Year

Fencibles United were also a finalist in the Club of the Year category.

Rachel Penney is the club secretary and women’s club captain for Bucklands Beach.

Zoe Benson is a New Zealand U-17 player who played for Bucklands Beach until her move to Eastern Suburbs this year.

Darryl Hamilton is the Football Development Manager at Fencibles and is an academy coach at the club.

Main photo: Rachel Penney and Andy Pullar from Bucklands Beach.

Category winners — full list

The full list of category winners at the Howick Sports Awards:

Administrator of the Year: Andy Pullar (Bucklands Beach)
Coach of the Year: Lance Revill (Revills Boxing Gym)
Official of the Year: Tyler Moran (Revills Boxing Gym)
Club of the Year: Revills Boxing Gym
Volunteer of the Year: Mike Hawkey (Fencibles United)
Junior Team of the Year: Howick Gymnastics Competition team
Team of the Year: Howick Pakuranga Hockey 3A Mens
Masters Athlete of the Year: Rodwyn Isaacs (Pakuranga Athletics Club)
Junior Sportsman of the Year: Zachary Saunders (Pakuranga Athletics Club)
Junior Sportswoman of the Year: Vivian Lu (Macleans College)
Sportsman of the Year: Waldo Singleton (West End Rowing Club)
Sportswoman of the Year: Valerie Adams (Pakuranga Athletics Club)
Supreme Award: Lance Revill (Revills Boxing Gym)

Tell us your club news

If you belong to a club in the northern or WaiBOP regions, please let us know what’s happening at your club.

Either send us your media releases or send us a link to your announcement/story on your website.

If we think it’ll interest football fans and our members, we’ll do our best to share your news.

Email us at – thanks.

Use our logo

Please add our logo to your club’s website and invite your members and supporters to check us out.

More football stories