Eastern Suburbs trio to join national U-19s after Chatham Cup final

posted in: Chatham Cup, News

Three Eastern Suburbs players will join the national squad at the OFC U-19 Championships in Tahiti after the Chatham Cup against Auckland City.

Goalkeeper Joe Knowles and clubmates Jackson Jarvie and Aaryan Raj will leave New Zealand a week later than the rest of the national squad.

The Darren Bazeley-coached squad leaves New Zealand for Tahiti on Monday September 5 and the side’s first tournament game is scheduled for Thursday September 8 (NZT).

The Chatham Cup final is on Sunday September 11.

Meanwhile, the captain of the New Zealand squad will be Finn Surman, one of 11 Wellington Phoenix players included.

Main photo: Wellington Phoenix player Finn Surman … named as captain.

NZ Football have confirmed their 23-player squad for the OFC tournament, with three non-travelling reserves.

The squad

Sebastian Barton-Ginger, Wellington Phoenix
Charlie Beale, Wellington Phoenix
Oliver Colloty, Melville United
Fin Conchie, Wellington Phoenix
Kian Donkers, Cashmere Technical
Theo Ettema, Wellington Olympic
Oliver Fay, Auckland United
Henry Gray, Waterside Karori
Jay Herdman, Vancouver Whitecaps
Isaac Hughes, Wellington Phoenix
Jackson Jarvie, Eastern Suburbs
Noah Karunaratne, Wellington Phoenix
Lukas Kelly-Heald, Wellington Phoenix
Joseph Knowles, Eastern Suburbs
Marco Lorenz, Wellington Phoenix
Oscar Mason, Napier City Rovers
Jackson Manuel, Wellington Phoenix
Dan McKay, Wellington Phoenix
Everton O’Leary, Birkenhead United
Aaryan Raj, Eastern Suburbs
Adam Supyk, Wellington Phoenix
Wilson Souphanthavong, Miramar Rangers
Finn Surman, Wellington Phoenix

Non-travelling reserves: Regan Diver (Northern Rovers), Josh Rudland (Wellington Phoenix) and Chase Taylor (Birkenhead United).

More football stories