New Zealand hit nine past American Samoa at OFC U-19 Championship

posted in: News

New Zealand have qualified for the knockout stages of the OFC U-19 Championship in their quest to qualify for next year’s FIFA U-20 Men’s World Cup.

The side ensured a quarter-final spot by beating American Samoa 9-0 in their second pool game at the 11-national tournament in Tahiti.

The Solomon Islands beat Cook Islands 3-0 in the other group A game played on Sunday.

This means a draw or better against Solomon Islands on Wednesday (NZT) will ensure New Zealand tops the group, and has potentially an easier path to the semi-final stages.

Against American Samoa — who have never won an international at U-20 level — New Zealand took charge, early running up a 4-0 lead by half-time.

Melville United’s Oliver Collotty bagged a hat-trick while Charlie Beale and Kian Donkers each scored twice.

Main photo: Colloty scored a hat-trick for New Zealand and was named Player of the Match. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

Meanwhile, the New Zealand squad will be bolstered ahead of Wednesday’s final pool game by the arrival of Eastern Suburbs trio of goalkeeper Joe Knowles, Jackson Jarvie and Aaryan Raj who are heading to Tahiti after the Chatham Cup final.

New Zealand starting line-up. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.


Game played on Sunday September 11, 2022

New Zealand 9 (Jackson Manuel 27′, Oliver Colloty 36′, 50′ pen, 58′, Charlie Beale 40′, 73′, Finn Surman 45’+2′, Kian Donkers 76′ pen, 85′)
American Samoa 0


Group A

Group B

Group C


Wednesday September 14 (1pm NZT): New Zealand v Solomon Islands

The draw

The group winners and runners-up from each group will progress to the quarter-final stage, as well as the two highest-ranked third-placed teams.


Q1: Winner Group A v Best performed 3rd team from B/C

Q2: Winner Group B v Best performed 3rd team from A/C

Q3: Winner Group C v Runners-up Group A

Q4: Runners-up Group B v Runners-up Group C


Winners Q1 v Winners Q2

Winners Q3 v Winners Q4

About the OFC U-19 Championship

New Zealand have won the championship at seven of the 22 previous tournaments.

New Zealand are the current title holders, having won in 2018, the last time the championship was held.

More football stories