Puketapu scores winner as Auckland United take Kate Sheppard Cup

posted in: Kate Sheppard Cup, News

A sole goal from striker Martine Puketapu proved to be the difference as Auckland United upset favourites Northern Rovers in the final of the Kate Sheppard Cup.

Playing at North Harbour Stadium, United won 1-0 with Puketapu scoring the winner after 57 minutes.

For Puketapu, it was her second dose of cup final glory, having scored two winning goals for Three Kings United in their cup win a decade ago when she was only 14.

The former Fern led the United attack with guile and experience, keeping Rovers on their guard the whole game.

Rovers had their chances, especially late when a couple of near misses went close to forcing extra time.

Main photo: United celebrate. Photo: Phototek.

READ MORE: Puketapu’s previous cup victory >>>>

Maia Jackman Trophy

Player of the match, Auckland United’s Katie Duncan.
Photo: Andrew Cornaga / Phototek.

The Maia Jackman Trophy awarded to the Player of the Match went to Auckland United’s Katie Duncan.

Main photo: Auckland United celebrate their win.


Game played on Sunday September 11, 2022

Northern Rovers 0
Auckland United 1 (Martine Puketapu 57′)

Watch again

Changing room joy! Photo: Auckland United FC.

Cup line-ups

Northern Rovers

Northern Rovers Photo: David Rowland / Phototek.

Team: Ellen Blount, Talish Green (c), Greer McIntosh, Suya Haering, Leanna Ryan, Danielle Canham, Estelle Harrison (Kate McConnell 73′), Michaela Foster, Breeze Durham (Riley Sheldon 86′), Alexis Cook, Chelsea Elliott. Subs not used: Georgia Craig, Shannon Henson, Angela Pivac, Courtney Noble, Mackenzie Longmuir.

Staff: Benjamin Bate (head coach), Gene Granger and Liz Savage (assistant coaches), Jade Henley-Smith (physio), Brian Haycock and Ella Dorward (team managers).

Auckland United

Auckland United .Photo: David Rowland / Phototek.

Team: Aimee Feinberg-Danieli, Emma Leaming, Jess Philpot (c), Georgia Martin, Katie Duncan, Bree Johnson, Alosi Bloomfield, Martine Puketapu, Milly Clegg, Isabella Richards (Penny Brill 86′), Ruby Nathan. Subs not used: Isabelle O’Connell, Sophie Williams, Sophie Bradley, Issy Gerrand, Maya Vince, Prue Catton.

Staff: Mauro Donoso (head coach), Christian Dawson (assistant coach), Kath Broad (physio), Kellie Nathan (team manager).

Match officials

Anna-Marie Keighley (referee), Allys Clipsham and Heloise Simons (assistant referees), Beth Rattray (fourth official).

How they got to the final

Northern Rovers

Prelim: Bye
R1: Beat Fencibles United 6-0 (away)
R2: Beat Western Springs 2-1 after extra time (away)
R3: Beat Ellerslie 3-1 (away)
QF: Beat Eastern Suburbs 3-1 (away)
SF: Beat Dunedin City Royals 2-2 (won penalty shoot-out 5-3 AET)

Auckland United

Prelim: Bye
R1: Bye
R2: Beat Hibiscus Coast 3-1 (away)
R3: Beat West Coast Rangers 3-0 (away)
QF: Beat Tauranga City 4-0 (away)
SF: Beat Palmerston North Marist 5-2 (home)

Past winners

1994 Nomads United (Christchurch)
1995 Waikato Unicol (Hamilton)
1996 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
1997 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1998 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1999 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2000 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2001 Ellerslie (Auckland)
2002 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2003 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2004 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2005 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2006 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2007 Western Springs (Auckland)
2008 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2009 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2010 Claudelands Rovers (Hamilton)
2011 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2012 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2013 Coastal Spirit (Christchurch)
2014 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2015 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2016 Forrest Hill Milford United (Auckland)
2017 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2018 Dunedin Technical (Dunedin)
2019 Eastern Suburbs (Auckland)
2020 No competition
2021 Wellington United (Wellington)
2022 Auckland United

The Kate Sheppard Cup is supported by the NZ Football Foundation.

More stories