Melville United Mighty As win men’s Waikato Cup, Otorohanga take Plate final

posted in: News

Melville United’s Mighty As have won the 2022 men’s Waikato Cup, beating Waikato Unicol’s Development Team 5-1 in the final.

Playing at Hamilton’s Korikori Park, Melville won the Ron White Trophy, named after the late long-serving Waikato administrator.

Main photo: The Mighty As relax in their changing room at Korikori Park. Credit: Melville United social media.

Earlier, Otorohanga’s division 2 side won the Waikato Plate, beating Cambridge’s third division team 2-0.

In the cup final, Melville took the lead through an own goal.

Rob Dunnigan doubled the side’s lead and then Melville stretched the margin to 3-0.

David Brennan added Melville’s fourth before Unicol pulled back a goal.

Ryan Watson scored the fifth for Mighty As, ensuring they carried off the cup.

Melville’s Mighty As are coached by Richie Wade and Blair Hoad.

The Mighty As celebrate victory. Credit: Melville United social media.

Meanwhile, goals by Michael Jones and Nathanael Wrack won the Plate for Otorohanga.

READ MORE: How Melville and Unicol reached the final >>>>


Games played on Saturday September 17, 2022

Waikato Cup

Melville Mighty As 5 (own goal, Rob Dunnigan, TBC, David Brennan, Ryan Watson)
Waikato Unicol Development 1

Waikato Plate

Otorohanga 2 (Michael Jones 7′, Nathanael Wrack 57′)
Cambridge 0

More football stories