Jay Herdman awarded Golden Ball after New Zealand’s OFC U-19 Championship win

posted in: News, Recognition

New Zealand midfielder Jay Herdman has won the Golden Ball award for being the most valuable player at the OFC U-19 Championship tournament in Tahiti.

Herdman was making his debut for New Zealand at the 11-nation tournament, after switching his allegiance from Canada for whom he had also played at age group level.

The Invercargill-born player, currently with the Vancouver Whitecaps, is the son of Canada’s national coach, John Herdman, who previously held football coaching roles in New Zealand.

As well as winning the OFC Championship, New Zealanders took individual awards after scoring 33 goals and conceding none in nine hours of football.

Cashmere Technical’s Kian Donkers and Melville United’s Oliver Colloty shared the Golden Boot, having scored nine goals apiece.

New Zealand’s goalkeepers Henry Gray (Waterside Karori), Joe Knowles (Eastern Suburbs) and Oscar Mason (Napier City Rovers) were all asked to receive the Golden Glove award after their team conceded no goals in the six games played.

READ MORE: New Zealand win OFC U-19 Championship with 3-0 win in final >>>>

Main photo: Award winners Oliver Colloty (left), Jay Herdman (centre) and Henry Gray. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

New Zealand U-19s. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

READ MORE: All our coverage of the OFC U-19 Championship >>>>

The New Zealand squad

Sebastian Barton-Ginger, Wellington Phoenix
Charlie Beale, Wellington Phoenix
Oliver Colloty, Melville United
Fin Conchie, Wellington Phoenix
Kian Donkers, Cashmere Technical
Theo Ettema, Wellington Olympic
Oliver Fay, Auckland United
Henry Gray, Waterside Karori
Jay Herdman, Vancouver Whitecaps
Isaac Hughes, Wellington Phoenix
Jackson Jarvie, Eastern Suburbs
Noah Karunaratne, Wellington Phoenix
Lukas Kelly-Heald, Wellington Phoenix
Joseph Knowles, Eastern Suburbs
Marco Lorenz, Wellington Phoenix
Oscar Mason, Napier City Rovers
Jackson Manuel, Wellington Phoenix
Dan McKay, Wellington Phoenix
Everton O’Leary, Birkenhead United
Aaryan Raj, Eastern Suburbs
Adam Supyk, Wellington Phoenix
Wilson Souphanthavong, Miramar Rangers
Finn Surman, Wellington Phoenix

Non-travelling reserves: Regan Diver (Northern Rovers), Josh Rudland (Wellington Phoenix) and Chase Taylor (Birkenhead United).

New Zealand’s record at the tournament


Game played on Sunday September 25, 2022 (NZT)

New Zealand 3 (Oliver Colloty 34′, 40′, Jay Herdman 84′)
Fiji 0


Game played on Thursday September 22, 2022

New Zealand 2 (Isaac Hughes 1′, Kian Donkers 52′)
Tahiti 0


Game played on Monday September 19, 2022

New Zealand 5 (Dan McKay 19′, 26′, Jay Herman 60′, Oliver Colloty 88′, 90+2′)
Papua New Guinea 0

Group Games

Game played on Wednesday September 14, 2022

New Zealand (Kian Donkers 23′, 45’+1′, Adam Supyk 55′, 69′, Everton O’Leary 67′, Fin Conchie 87′)
Solomon Islands 0

Game played on Sunday September 11, 2022

New Zealand 9 (Jackson Manuel 27′, Oliver Colloty 36′, 50′ pen, 58′, Charlie Beale 40′, 73′, Finn Surman 45’+2′, Kian Donkers 76′ pen, 85′)
American Samoa 0

Game played on Thursday September 8, 2022

New Zealand 8 (Kian Donkers 2′, 21′, 35′, 44′ pen, Jay Herdman 39′, Oliver Colloty 71′ pen, 84′, Oliver Fay 82′)
Cook Islands 0

Group A

More football stories