World champions name squad to play Football Ferns in two-game series

posted in: Football Ferns, News

The world champion United States have named their 24-player squad to visit New Zealand for January’s two international friendlies.

The Football Ferns will play the US team in Wellington on January 18 and at Auckland’s Eden Park on January 21.

The squad includes star forward Alex Morgan, who won the Silver Boot at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, but is without Golden Boot winner Megan Rapinhoe who is injured.

The US squad

Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars), Casey Murphy (North Carolina Courage), Adrianna Franch (Kansas City Current)

Emily Sonnett (Washington Spirit), Crystal Dunn (Portland Thorns), Sofia Huerta (OL Reign), Emily Fox (Racing Louisville), Alana Cook (OL Reign), Becky Sauerbrunn (Portland Thorns), Naomi Girma (San Diego Wave), Hailie Mace (Kansas City Current)

Lindsey Horan (Olympique Lyon), Rose Lavelle (OL Reign), Taylor Kornieck (San Diego Wave), Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit), Kristie Mewis (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Sam Coffey (Portland Thorns), Ashely Sanchez (Washington Spirit)

Ashley Hatch (Washington Spirit), Midge Purce (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit), Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave), Mallory Swanson (Chicago Red Stars), Lynn Williams (Kansas City Current)

Forwards Megan Rapinhoe and Sophia Smith were ruled out of contention due to injuries, joining an injured list that also includes Tobin Heath, Christen Press, Sam Mewis, Catarina Macario, Tierna Davidson and Kelley O’Hara.

New Zealand squad

The Football Ferns have announced a 26-player squad for the series.

READ MORE: Golden Boot winner among five new faces in Ferns squad to face United States >>>>


Game to be played on Wednesday January 18, 2023

New Zealand v United States
Sky Stadium, Wellington, 4pm (NZT)

Game to be played on Saturday January 21, 2023

New Zealand v United States
Eden Park, Auckland, 4pm (NZT)

The United States’ record

The US have won a record four FIFA Women’s World Cups (1991, 1999, 2015, 2019), and are chasing an unprecedented third straight win in 2023.

They will be based in Aotearoa New Zealand for the group stage of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023, where they will play Vietnam and Play Off Tournament Winner A at Eden Park, and face the Netherlands at Sky Stadium in a rematch of the 2019 final.

More football stories