Two squads chosen to represent NZ Secondary Schools on April overseas tour

posted in: News

Thirty-six players have been selected to represent NZ Secondary Schools on a tour of Malaysia and Singapore in April.

Two boys’ teams — representing U-19 and U-16 age groups — will play representative teams from Malaysia and Singapore, and play two warm-up games, on the tour.

The squads leave New Zealand on April 6, 2023, and return on April 17, 2023.

Selectors chose the squads after North v South trial games at Auckland’s Seddon Fields.

Played in extremely wet and windy conditions, North beat South 2-0 in the U-16 game, while the U-19 trial ended in a 2-2 draw.

U-19 New Zealand squad

1 Isaac Bates – Hamilton Boys’ High School
2 Zach Bryant – Tauranga Boys’ College
3 Hwiseong Chang – Saint Kentigern College
4 Ikjun Cho – Saint Kentigern College
5 Xavier Coleman – Palmerston North Boys’ High School
6 Luke Costello – Saint Kentigern College
7 Harrison Dudley – Rathkeale college
8 Philip Fatialofa – St Patrick’s College Silverstream
9 Brayden Hills – Saint Kentigern College
10 Oliver Hutchins – Whanganui Collegiate
11 Tate Hywood – Saint Kentigern College
12 Darren Juru – Palmerston North Boys’ High School
13 Finn McKenlay – Westlake Boys’ High School
14 Shivam Nair – Northcote College
15 Isa Prins – St Patrick’s College Silverstream
16 Ralph Rutherford – Saint Kentigern College
17 Luca Siegel – Hutt International Boys School
18 James Taylor – Westlake Boys’ High School

U-16 New Zealand squad

1 Josh Barrymore-Uden – Hamilton Boys’ High School
2 Diego Coleman – Palmerston North Boys’ High School
3 Cameron Deamer – Westlake Boys’ High School
4 James Elder – Mahurangi College
5 William Gross – Pompallier Catholic College
6 Charlie Hale – St Patrick’s College (Wellington)
7 Kaw Hser – Palmerston North Boys’ High School
8 Damion Kim – Westlake Boys’ High School
9 Hugo King – Saint Kentigern College
10 Harrison Kowalczyk – Hutt International Boys School
11 Ryan Mackay – Saint Kentigern College
12 Keio Mann – St Peter’s College
13 Matthew Rodrigues – Westlake Boys’ High School
14 Dallas Rongokea – Manukura School
15 Nicholas Rooney – Sacred Heart College
16 Brendan Schneider – Rathkeale College
17 Louis Spillane – Saint Kentigern College
18 Caleb Woodfield – St Peter’s School (Cambridge)

Writers wanted

Friends of Football seeks more volunteer writers interested in coverage secondary school football for our website.

Details are below:

More football stories