Nine members of national U-20 squad miss tournament opener due to travel issues

posted in: News

Nine members of the New Zealand U-20 men’s squad were unable to get to Indonesia in time for the team’s opening game against Guatemala at the four-nation PSSI Invitational tournament.

After accepting a late invitation to the tournament, the Darren Bazeley-coached U-20s managed to get 14 players to Jakarta in time for the game in which they lost 3-1 to Guatemala.

Players who took part in the fixture were Matt Foord, Aaryan Raj, Adam Supyk, Everton O’Leary, Jackson Jarvie, Roman Engle, Josh Galletly, Oliver Middleton, Kian Donkers, Oliver Colloty, William Pierce, Jay Herdman, Oscar Obel Hall, Ty Cobb.

Those to miss the fixture were all from Wellington.

They were seven Wellington Phoenix players Alby Kelly-Heald, Charlie Beale, Dan McKay, Fin Conchie, Isaac Hughes, Lukas Kelly-Heald, Marco Lorenz and Henry Gray (Waterside Karori) and Theo Ettema (Wellington Olympic).

Coach Bazely told NZ Football:

“It’s a great opportunity to play international games at the U-20 World Cup host, something that we couldn’t turn down even at this late notice.

“The games also provide an opportunity for us to have a look at some different players in this environment than we had for the qualifiers.”

Main photo: Darren Bazeley is leading the 23-player squad at the four-nation tournament in Jakarta. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

READ MORE: New Zealand U-20 men’s team lose 3-1 to Guatemala at international tournament >>>>

In an Instagram message, NZ Football said:

“Due to major travel issues caused by the weather conditions, players were only able to arrive yesterday with nine players still to join the squad.”

New Zealand have replaced the Dominican Republic at the tournament in which all four participating squads are preparing for the FIFA U-20 Men’s World Cup to be played in Indonesia from May 20 to June 11, 2023.

Other teams at the tournament are:

  • Indonesia, who have qualified for the World Cup as the host nation.
  • Fiji, who qualified with New Zealand by reaching the final of the OFC U-19 Championship.
  • Guatemala, who qualified for the World Cup as one of four nations from the CONCACAF region.

READ MORE: Past winners England, Brazil and France to join New Zealand at U-20 Men’s World Cup >>>>

New Zealand squad

Aaryan Raj (Eastern Suburbs), Adam Supyk (Eastern Suburbs), Alby Kelly-Heald (Wellington Phoenix), Charlie Beale (Wellington Phoenix), Dan McKay (Wellington Phoenix), Everton O’Leary (Birkenhead United), Fin Conchie (Wellington Phoenix), Henry Gray (Waterside Karori), Isaac Hughes (Wellington Phoenix), Jackson Jarvie (Eastern Suburbs), Jay Herdman (Vancouver Whitecaps, Canada), Josh Galletly (Eastern Suburbs), Kian Donkers (NEC Nijmegen, Netherlands), Lukas Kelly-Heald (Wellington Phoenix), Marco Lorenz (Wellington Phoenix), Matt Foord (Cashmere Technical), Oliver Colloty (Melville United), Oliver Middleton (Auckland United), Oscar Obel Hall (Esbjerg FC, Denmark), Roman Engle (Gold Coast Knights, Australia), Theo Ettema (Wellington Olympic), Ty Cobb (Brisbane Roar, Australia), William Pierce (Christchurch United).


Game to be played on Monday February 20, 2023

Indonesia v New Zealand
Gelora Bung Karno Stadium, Jakarta, 12.30am (NZT)

Game to be played on Tuesday February 21, 2023

Fiji v New Zealand
Gelora Bung Karno Stadium, Jakarta, 10.30pm (NZT)

More football stories