Four more nations qualify to join New Zealand at FIFA U-17 World Cup in Peru

posted in: News

Four more countries have joined the teams to contest November’s FIFA U-17 men’s World Cup in Peru, for which New Zealand have qualified.

The four semi-finalists at the 16-nation CONCACAF U-17 Championship tournament in Guatemala all go through to the Peru tournament.

They were: Canada, United States, Mexico and Panama

The United States were to meet Mexico in the tournament final on Monday February 27, 2023 (NZT).

The four CONCACAF region teams (from Central, North America and Caribbean) join New Zealand and New Caledonian who qualified for Peru by reaching the final of the OFC U-17 Championship in January.

Main photo: New Zealand and New Caledonia qualified for Peru by reaching the final of the OFC U-17 Championship.

How the rest of the teams will qualify

In total, 24 nations will head to Peru for the World Cup.

The remaining 17 participating teams will come from:

AFC (Asia) — four semi-finalists at the U-17 Asian Cup in May.

CAF (Africa) — four semi-finalists at the U-17 Africa Cup of Nations in May.

CONMEBOL (South America) — four semi-finalists at the South American U-17 Championship in April, as well as host country Peru who are already confirmed.

UEFA (Europe) — five qualifiers to come from the European U-17 Championship which ends in early June.

READ MORE: Our previous stories about the New Zealand U-17 men’s team >>>>

More football stories