Argentina want to host hastily-rearranged FIFA U-20 Men’s World Cup

posted in: News

New Zealand’s national U-20 men’s team could be heading to Argentina next month for a hastily-arranged FIFA U-20 World Cup tournament.

The nation that won last year’s FIFA World Cup has submitted the only formal proposal to host the U-20 tournament after Indonesia were stripped of hosting rights last week.

FIFA president Gianni Infantino has said Argentina has a “very good chance” of replacing Indonesia as hosts of the tournament that’s scheduled to go ahead from May 20 – June 11.

Qatar and Peru have reportedly indicated an interest in hosting the tournament at short notice but neither had submitted a formal proposal.

“We all know Argentine football and surely it can host a competition of this level,” Infantino told a news conference in Paraguay, where he is taking part in the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) Congress.

FIFA are expected to decide within a few days whether to accept the Argentine proposal, and Infantino has said FIFA wants the tournament to run within the original timeframe.

READ MORE: Plans for FIFA U-20 World Cup in disarray as Indonesia stripped of hosting >>>>

New Zealand, coached by the All Whites’ interim head coach Darren Bazeley, are one of 24 teams to qualify for the U-20 World Cup, including original host Indonesia.

Argentina had not qualified so they could get a second chance, replacing Indonesia if they become the new host.

In February, New Zealand took part in a four-nation U-20 tournament in Indonesia to help prepare for the World Cup tournament.

Main photo: Argentina … world champions. Credit Cristian Tarzi on Unsplash

READ MORE: Our previous stories about the FIFA U-20 World Cup >>>>


  • Indonesia (participation doubtful)
  • Dominican Republic (CONCACAF)
  • Guatemala (CONCACAF)
  • Honduras (CONCACAF)
  • United States (CONCACAF)
  • Fiji (OFC)
  • New Zealand (OFC)
  • England (UEFA)
  • France (UEFA)
  • Italy (UEFA)
  • Israel (UEFA)
  • Slovakia (UEFA)
  • Brazil (CONMEBOL)
  • Colombia (CONMEBOL)
  • Ecuador (CONMEBOL)
  • Uruguay (CONMEBOL)
  • Gambia (CAF)
  • Nigeria (CAF)
  • Senegal (CAF)
  • Tunisia (CAF)
  • Iraq (AFC)
  • Uzbekistan (AFC)
  • Japan (AFC)
  • South Korea (AFC)

More football stories