Former All Whites to play in Napier City Rovers’ 50th Anniversary Legends game

posted in: All Whites, Events, Heritage, News

Napier City Rovers have named a number of former All Whites in their all-star teams to play in the club’s 50th Anniversary Legends match at Easter Weekend.

Members of the 2010 World Cup qualifiers goalkeeper Mark Paston and defender Ben Sigmund will line up in Team Red, with 13-cap Andy Rennie.

Opposing them will be Team Blue with former internationals Perry Cotton and Cole Peverley.

The match kicks off at 12pm on Sunday April 9, at Bluewater Stadium.

It will be followed by the Central League fixture between Rovers and Miramar Rangers.

The legends teams include:

Paston made 36 appearances for New Zealand between 1997 and 2013, and 72 games for the Wellington Phoenix.He began his senior career with Napier City Rovers, making 135 appearances.

Paston will also be a guest speaker at the club’s anniversary dinner on Easter Saturday.

Main photo: Mark Paston … started his senior career at Napier City Rovers. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

Ben Sigmund played 31 times for the All Whites between 2000 and 2014, as well as playing for the national U-17 and U-20 squads.

Andy Rennie made 13 All Whites appearances between 1995 and 1997.

Perry Cotton played 10 games for the full New Zealand side between 1992 and 1995.

Cole Peverley is a one-cap All White, and former U-20 and U-23 international.


Games to be played on Sunday April 9, 2023

Team Blue v Team Red
Bluewater Stadium, Napier, 12pm

Central League

Napier City Rovers v Miramar Rangers
Bluewater Stadium, Napier, 2pm

Team Blue

Stan Clarke
Steve O’Donoghue
Perry Cotton
Chris Shakeshaft
Robbie Parker
Jamie Mason
Mark Harrison
Stu Wilson
Richard Gearey
Matt Hastings
Nick Matheson
Willy Stanger
Wayne Atkins
Cole Peverley
Adam Turner
Regan Camerson
Chris Greatholder

Manager: Mick Waitt

Team Red

Lance Bauerfeind
Phil Purvis
Andy Rennie
Warren Gilbertson
Mark Paston
Scott Turner
Andrew Huxford
Chris Mcivor
David Gearey
Andrew Abba
Rudi Bauerfeind
Ben Sigmund
Trevor Wattam
Danny Wilson
David Birnie
Kyle Baxter
Scott Dunn

Manager: Roy Stanger

More football stories