Brazil and Argentina to join New Zealand at November’s FIFA U-17 World Cup

Brazil and Argentina will join New Zealand at the FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup in November as more nations qualify to take part in the 24-nation tournament.

Brazil, who have qualified 18 times for the U-17 World Cup, and Argentina (15 qualifications), have become eligible for this year’s tournament through the 2023 South American U-17 Championship taking place in Ecuador.

Though the tournament has not yet concluded, Brazil, Argentina, Venezuela and Ecuador have qualified for November’s World Cup, while Paraguay and Chile have missed out.

The venue of the November tournament is in doubt after FIFA stripped Peru of its hosting rights, saying the country was not ready for the tournament.

FIFA are now assessing alternatives.

The decision also means Peru loses its right to attend the World Cup as the host nation.

Main photo: The New Zealand team celebrate winning the OFC U-17 Championship and the place at the FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup that came with reaching the final. Photo: Kirk Corrie /

The 10 nations already qualified

Ten nations have confirmed their places at the tournament:

  • New Zealand and New Caledonia, through reaching the final of the OFC U-17 Championship in Fiji.
  • Canada, United States, Mexico and Panama, who qualified through the 16-nation CONCACAF U-17 Championship tournament in Guatemala.
  • Brazil, Argentina, Venezuela and Ecuador, through the South Amercian U-17 Championship.

Where the other 14 teams will come from

The remaining 14 participants will come from:

  • AFC (Asia) — four semi-finalists at the U-17 Asian Cup in late June.
  • CAF (Africa) — four semi-finalists at the U-17 Africa Cup of Nations in May.
  • UEFA (Europe) — five qualifiers to come from the European U-17 Championship which ends in early June.
  • Host nation — depends on decision by FIFA as to which country will host the tournament.

READ MORE: Our previous stories about the New Zealand U-17 men’s team >>>>

More football stories