Six Phoenix players in starting line-up to face United States at U-20 World Cup

posted in: A-League (Men), News

Head coach Darren Bazeley has named six Wellington Phoenix players in New Zealand’s starting line-up to face the United States in the Round of 16 match at the FIFA U-20 Men’s World Cup in Argentina.

These included captain Finn Surman who has recovered from a calf injury that saw him substituted in Saturday’s game against Argentina.

Jay Herdman, Ben Wallace and Norman Garbett — the goalscorers for New Zealand in their group games — are all included in the starting XI.

Main photo: Jay Herdman … starts in midfield for New Zealand.Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

The teams were announced an hour before kick-off which is 5.30am (NZT).

The winner of the match will earn a quarter-final against either Gambia or Uruguay.

STREAM: Watch New Zealand play United States at FIFA U-20 Men’s World Cup >>>>

READ MORE: New Zealand U-20 coach Darren Bazeley: ‘We’ll give everything to make history’ >>>>

READ MORE: Captain Finn Surman confident he’ll be fit for big game against United States >>>>


Game to be played on Wednesday May 31, 2023

United States v New Zealand
Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, 5.30am (NZT)

Starting line-ups

New Zealand

1 Kees Sims, Ljungskile SK (SWE)
4 Isaac Hughes, Wellington Phoenix FC (NZL)
5 Finn Surman, (captain), Wellington Phoenix FC (NZL)
6 Fin Conchie, Wellington Phoenix FC (NZL)
9 Oliver Colloty, (Free Agent)
10 Jay Herdman, Vancouver Whitecaps FC (CAN)
11 Norman Garbett, Potenza Calcio (ITA)
14 Finn Linder, Vancouver Whitecap FC (CAN)
16 Dan McKay, Wellington Phoenix FC (NZL)
18 Ben Wallace, Wellington Phoenix FC (NZL)
20 Lukas Kelly-Heald, Wellington Phoenix FC (NZL)


13 Henry Gray, Ipswich Town I ENG)
21 Albert Kelly-Heald, Wellington Phoenix FC (NZL)
2 Jackson Jarvie, Eastern Suburbs AFC (NZL)
3 Adam Supyk, Eastern Suburbs AFC (NZL)
7 Noah Karunaratne, Wellington Phoenix FC (NZL)
8 Jackson Manuel, Western Springs AFC (NZL)
12 Everton O’Leary, Birkenhead United AFC (NZL)
15 Aaryan Raj, Eastern Suburt AFC (NZL)
17 Oliver Fay, Ljungskile SK (SWE)
19 Kian Donkers, NEC Nijmegen (NED)

Head coach
Darren Bazeley

Assistant coaches
Paul Temple
Martin Bullock

Goalkeeper coach
Glen Moss

United States

1 Gaga Slonina, Chelsea FC (ENG)
3 Caleb Wiley, Atlanta United FC (USA)
4 Joshua Wynder, Louisville City FC (USA)
5 Brandan Raig, Philadelphia Union (USA)
6 Daniel Edelman (captain), New York Red Bulls (USA)
8 Jack McGlynn, Philadelphia Union (USA)
9 Cade Cowell, San Jose Earthquakes (USA)
10 Diego Luna, Real Salt Lake (USA)
13 Jonathan Gomez, Real Sociedad (ESP)
16 Owen Wolff,  Austin FC (USA)
17 Justin Che, TSG 1899 Hoffenheim (GER)


12 Antonio Carrera, FC Dallas (USA)
21 Alexander Borto, Fulham FC (ENG)
2 Michael Halliday, Orlando City SC (USA)
7 Quinn Sullivan, Philadelphia Union (USA)
11 Kevin Paredes, VfL Wolfsburg (GER)
14 Marcus Ferkranus, LA Galaxy (USA)
15 Niko Tsakiris, San Jose Earthquakes (USA)
18 Obed Vargas, Seattle Sounders FC (USA)
19 Darren Tapi, Colorado Rapids (USA)
20 Rokas Pukstas HNK Hajduk Split (CRO)

Head coach
Mikey Varas

Assistant coaches
Gonzalo Segares
Shaun Tsakiris

Goalkeeper coach
Jason Grubb


Referee: Mohamed Marouf (EGY)
Assistant referee 1: Zakaria Brinsi (MAR)
Assistant referee 2: Abbes Akram Zerhouni (ALG)
Fourth officials: Donatas Rumsas (LTU)
Reserve assistant referee: Ivanildo Lopes (ANG)
VAR: Aleandro Di Paolo (ITA)
Assistant VAR 1: BRANCO Luis Miguel Branco (POR)

Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza … venue for New Zealand’s Round of 16 tie with the United States.

Match schedule

More football stories