Ferns trim size of training group as selection nears for FIFA Women’s World Cup

Football Ferns head coach Jitka Klimková has reduced her training group as she gets closer to naming her final 23-player squad for next month’s FIFA Women’s World Cup. 

Following the first month of the training programme, Klimková has reduced the group of players involved, with the following players released from the Auckland-based camp:

Alyssa Whinham (Wellington Phoenix), Deven Jackson (Eastern Suburbs), Hannah Blake (Perth Glory), Maggie Jenkins (UCF Knights, Florida), Murphy Sheaff (Jacksonville Dolphins), Aniela Jensen (University of the Pacific, United States).

The Wellington Phoenix pair Lily Alfeld and Chloe Knott had also been training with the group, though not considered for selection.

Main photo: Head coach Jitka Klimková needs to finalise a squad of 23 players for the tournament. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

With 37 days to New Zealand’s first game, against Norway at Auckland’s Eden Park, Klimková has 33 players in contention for the 23 World Cup spots.

These include captain Ali Riley (Angel City, United States) and Betty Hassett, who is recovering from broken ribs and remains with her Wellington Phoenix club, neither of whom are able to join the training camp ahead of the tournament.

The 31 players taking part in the training programme until the squad selection are:

Liz Anton (Perth Glory, Australia)
Mackenzie Barry (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand)
CJ Bott* (Leicester City, England)
Katie Bowen (Melbourne City, Australia)
Claudia Bunge (Melbourne Victory, Australia)
Olivia Chance* (Celtic, Scotland)
Daisy Cleverley* (HB Køge, Denmark)
Milly Clegg (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand)
Ava Collins (St John’s University, United States)
Brianna Edwards (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand)
Victoria Esson (Rangers, Scotland)
Michaela Foster (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand)
Ally Green* (AGF, Denmark)
Jacqui Hand* (Aland United, Finland)
Grace Jale (Canberra United, Australia)
Anna Leat (Aston Villa, England)

Annalie Longo (unattached)
Meikayla Moore* (Glasgow City, Scotland)
Erin Nayler* (IFK Norrköping, Sweden)
Grace Neville (London City Lionesses, England)
Ria Percival* (Tottenham Hotspur, England)
Gabi Rennie (Arizona State University, United States)
Indiah-Paige Riley (Brisbane Roar, Australia)
Emma Rolston (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand)
Paige Satchell (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand)
Malia Steinmetz (Western Sydney Wanderers, Australia)
Rebekah Stott (Brighton & Hove Albion, England)
Kate Taylor (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand)
Ashleigh Ward (Southampton, England)
Hannah Wilkinson (Melbourne City, Australia)
Grace Wisnewski (Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand)

*not started the programme yet.

Countdown to the cup

More football stories