Venue and all 24 qualifers are now confirmed for FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup

New Zealand now know all their opponents — and the venue — for November’s FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup.

After stripping Peru of its hosting rights, FIFA have confirmed the 24-nation tournament will go ahead in Indonesia from November 10 till December 2, 2023.

FIFA president Gianni Infantino announces Indonesia as the new host of the U-17 Men’s World Cup.

Indonesia has been asked to pull together a squad as they get an automatic qualification as hosts.

New Zealand and New Caledonia qualified for the World Cup by reaching the final of the OFC U-17 Championship.

Meanwhile, the last places at the tournament have been confirmed with four qualifiers found at the U-17 Asian Cup, taking place in June in Thailand.

They are Iran, Japan, South Korea and Uzbekistan, who have reached the Asian Cup semi-finals.

Australia have missed a place at the World Cup, after losing 3-1 to Japan in the quarter-finals, while Yemen missed out, losing their last eight game on penalties to Iran.

The 2023 FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup will be the first in four years after organisers were forced to cancel the 2019 edition due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The draw for this year’s tournament will be held in August in Jakarta.

Main photo: Captain Dylan Gardiner raises the OFC U-17 Men’s Championship trophy as New Zealand earns qualification to the November U-17 World Cup. Photo: Kirk Corrie / Phototek.

READ MORE: Dylan Gardiner — The towering centre back with dreams of World Cup glory >>>>

The 24 nations to qualify

The following have confirmed their places at the FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup:

  • New Zealand and New Caledonia, through reaching the final of the OFC U-17 Championship in Fiji.
  • CanadaUnited StatesMexico and Panama, who qualified through the 16-nation CONCACAF U-17 Championship tournament in Guatemala.
  • BrazilArgentinaVenezuela and Ecuador, through the South American U-17 Championship.
  • SenegalMoroccoMali and Burkina Faso, through the U-17 Africa Cup of Nations.
  • FranceGermanyPoland, Spain and England, through the U-17 European Championship.
  • Iran, South Korea, Japan and Uzbekistan, through the U-17 Asian Cup.
  • Indonesia, as hosts

READ MORE: Our previous stories about the New Zealand U-17 men’s team >>>>

More football stories