The clubs that will join Auckland City at the FIFA Club World Cup in Saudi Arabia

Only one spot remains at December’s FIFA Club World Cup in Saudia Arabia after five clubs have confirmed their right to join Oceania champions Auckland City at the tournament.

The latest club to qualify for the glamour tournament are Manchester City, following their win in the UEFA Champions League.

The only remaining spot awaits whichever club is crowned champions of South America.

Teams already qualified for the FIFA Club World Cup are:

  • Auckland City, New Zealand (Oceania champions)
  • Al-Ittihad, Saudi Arabia (hosts)
  • Urawa Red Diamonds, Japan (Asia champions)
  • Club Leon, Mexico (North & Central America/Caribbean champions)
  • Al Ahly, Egypt (African champions)
  • Manchester City (European champions)

The seventh and last qualifier will be decided on November 4, when the final of the 2023 Copa Libertadores is held, deciding which club will represent South America.

The draw will bring together Auckland City and hosts Al-Ittihad in a sudden-death tie, expected to be played on December 12.

Last year’s opening match between Auckland City and Al Ahly, played in Morocco.

If City win, they’ll face one of the clubs that enter at the second round stage, including Japan’s Urawa Red Diamonds, Egypt’s Al Ahly and Mexico’s Club Leon.

The two survivors of the second round go into the semi-finals against Manchester City, and whichever side represents South America.

The December tournament will be the last in its current form, switching from its seven-team format to a 32-team four-yearly tournament in 2025.

READ MORE: First new-look FIFA Club World Cup to be staged in the United States >>>>

Saudi Arabia offered to host the 2023 tournament, for the first time, as part of their bid to win hosting rights for the 2030 FIFA Men’s World Cup.

The 2022 competition was held in Morocco, with the previous five finals held in either the United Arab Emirates or Qatar.

READ MORE: Auckland City need extra time to clinch 11th OFC Champions League title >>>>

Main photo: Auckland celebrate winning the 2023 Champions League, earning qualification for the FIFA Club World Cup.  Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

More football stories