Western Springs to face Wellington United in final of Kate Sheppard Cup

posted in: Kate Sheppard Cup, News

Western Springs will play Wellington United in the final of this year’s Kate Sheppard Cup.

Both clubs are seeking their second win in the competition, with Springs having won the trophy in 2007 and Wellington United winning the 2021 edition in the COVID-delayed final last year.

Springs needed extra time to beat Coastal Spirit 5-1 in the semi-final played at Seddon Fields.

The sides were locked up 1-1 at the end of normal time.

Main photo: Relief as Western Springs increase their lead in extra time.

Wellington United players share the joy at the final whistle.

In the other semi-final, Wellington United scored directly from a Sarah Alder corner in the 70th minute to spoil Suburbs’ hopes of achieving an unprecedented Kate Sheppard Cup/Chatham Cup double.

NZ Football have yet to announce the date and venue for the final.


Games played on Sunday August 13, 2023


Eastern Suburbs 0
Wellington United 1 (Sarah Alder 70′)

Western Springs 5 (Celia Mayo 18′, Liz Savage 96′, 118′, Megan Lee 105+2′, Maia Lythe 109′)
Coastal Spirit 1 (Whitney Hepburn 67′)
*After extra time

All the past winners — Kate Sheppard Cup

1994 Nomads United (Christchurch)
1995 Waikato Unicol (Hamilton)
1996 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
1997 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1998 Three Kings United (Auckland)
1999 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2000 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2001 Ellerslie (Auckland)
2002 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2003 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2004 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2005 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2006 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2007 Western Springs (Auckland)

2008 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2009 Lynn-Avon United (Auckland)
2010 Claudelands Rovers (Hamilton)
2011 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2012 Three Kings United (Auckland)
2013 Coastal Spirit (Christchurch)
2014 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2015 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2016 Forrest Hill Milford United (Auckland)
2017 Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2018 Dunedin Technical (Dunedin)
2019 Eastern Suburbs (Auckland)
2021 Wellington United (Wellington)
2022 Auckland United (Auckland)

The Kate Sheppard Cup is supported by the NZ Football Foundation.

More football stories