Four European teams to join New Zealand at FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup

posted in: News

Three-time former champions Germany have joined New Zealand in qualifying for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup to be held in Colombia in September 2024.

Germany were one of four European nations to qualify for the tournament, along with Netherlands, France and Spain, at the UEFA U-19 Women’s Championship held in Belgium in July.

Spain won the eight-team tournament, beating Germany in a penalty shootout after they were deadlocked 0-0 after extra time.

Netherlands and France achieved qualification as beaten semi-finalists at the UEFA tournament.

New Zealand clinched its place at the world cup by winning the OFC U-19 Women’s Championship in Fiji in early July 2023.

Main photo: New Zealand won the OFC U-19 Women’s Championship, beating Fiji in the final. Photo: Kirk Corrie / Phototek.

READ MORE: New Zealand qualify for next year’s FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup >>>>

READ MORE: Focus turns to 2024 U-20 World Cup as New Zealand celebrates qualification >>>>

Sixteen countries will contest September’s World Cup, of which nine are now confirmed.

They are:

  • Canada, Mexico, United States (CONCACAF qualification)
  • Colombia (host nation)
  • France, Germany, Netherlands, Spain (UEFA qualification)
  • New Zealand (Oceania qualification)

The remaining teams will qualify from the following tournaments:

  • 2024 U-20 Asian Cup (three teams)
  • 2024 U-20 African Cup (two teams)
  • 2024 U-20 South American Championship (two teams)

Tournament format

The U-20 Women’s World Cup will have four groups of four teams.

The draw will seed teams to avoid being drawn to play others from the same confederation.

More football stories