European players dominate individual awards at FIFA Women’s World Cup

Spanish midfielder Aitana Bonmati has been named the best player at the FIFA Women’s World Cup, winning the tournament’s Golden Ball award.

European players dominated the individual awards announced at the end of the tournament, following Spain’s 1-0 win against England in the final in Sydney.

Main photo: Spain … world champions for the first time. Photo credit: FIFA.

English goalkeeper Mary Earps won the Golden Glove, and Spain’s Salma Paralluelo was awarded the Young Player of the Tournament.

Full list of awards

FIFA Fair Play Award presented by McDonald’s: Japan
FIFA Best Young Player Award: 
Salma Paralluelo (Spain)
adidas Golden Glove Award: 
Mary Earps (England)
adidas Golden Boot Award: 
Hinata Miyazawa (Japan) – 5 goals, 1 assist
adidas Silver Boot Award: 
Kadidatou Diani (France) – 4 goals, 1 assist
adidas Bronze Boot Award: Alexandra Popp (Germany) – 4 goals
adidas Golden Ball Award: Aitana Bonmati (Spain)
adidas Silver Ball Award: Jennifer Hermoso (Spain)
adidas Bronze Ball Award: Amanda Ilestedt (Sweden)

More football stories