Auckland United seal Women’s Premier League title in last game of season

Auckland United have wrapped up the Lotto NRFL Women’s Premier League title, beating Western Springs 5-1 at Keith Hay Park.

In the final round of games, Ellerslie beat Hibiscus Coast 2-1 to take the fourth and final qualifying place in this year’s Women’s National League.

Going into Sunday, Auckland United needed a draw or win to overhaul nearest rivals Eastern Suburbs whose last fixture was a 3-0 default win against Hamilton Wanderers.

United showed no mercy, rattling up five goals against Kate Sheppard Cup finalists Western Springs, led by a Chelsea Elliott hat-trick.

The fifth and final goal was scored from the penalty spot by New Zealand U-20 international Ruby Nathan, playing her last game for United before taking up a contract with A-League club Canberra United.

Main photo: Champions … Auckland United celebrate taking the 2023 title. Photo credit: Auckland United.

READ MORE: Age group international Ruby Nathan signs for A-League club Canberra United >>>>

Ellerslie needed a late goal to secure their national league berth.

With eight minutes to go, they were drawing 1-1 with Hibiscus Coat — a result that would have seen West Coast Rangers take the national spot — but Britney Cunningham-Lee scored her 11th goal of the season to get the vital win.


Games played on Sunday August 27, 2023

Auckland United 5 (Chelsea Elliott 2′, 26′, 50′, Talisha Green 3′, Ruby Nathan 56′ pen)
Western Springs 1 (Jess Innes 45′)

Ellerslie 2 (Cilla Fa’afua 6′, Britney Cunningham-Lee 82′)
Hibiscus Coast 1 (Danica Urlich-Beech 24′)

West Coast Rangers 4 (Luci Hollister 2′, Kendrah Smith 17′, Cara Lonergan 47′, Lorna Selby 49′)
Northern Rovers 0

Eastern Suburbs 3
Hamilton Wanderers 0
*Game defaulted by Hamilton Wanderers

More football stories