Teams confirmed for expanded 2023 Women’s National League

The teams competing in the expanded women’s National League Championship have been confirmed following the last round of the games in the Lotto NRFL Women’s Premiership.

From 2023, the league will increase from eight to 10 teams, the same as for the men’s competition, and operate a hybrid model with club sides, combined federation and club teams and federations teams with a view to the women’s National League Championship moving to a fully club-based league in future seasons.

Auckland United, Eastern Suburbs and Western Springs return for the 2023 season after finishing first, second and third respectively in the Lotto NRFL Women’s Premiership.

They are joined by newcomers Ellerslie who finished fourth in the league.

Mirroring the men’s competition, Wellington Phoenix Academy will join the league for the first time in 2023.

Also representing the Capital Football region are federation teams delivered in partnership with club sides Wellington United and Waterside Karori as a pilot for clubs representing the region in future.

For the competition, the teams will be referred to as Capital Football Wellington United (styled as CF Wellington United) and Capital Football Waterside Karori (styled as CF Waterside Karori).

Federation teams Canterbury United Pride, Central Football and Southern United complete the league.

Women’s National League Championship

Auckland United (Lotto NRFL Women’s Premiership qualifier)
Canterbury United Pride (Mainland Football federation team)
CF Waterside Karori (Capital Football federation team)
CF Wellington United (Capital Football federation team)
Central Football (Central Football federation team)
Eastern Suburbs (Lotto NRFL Women’s Premiership qualifier)
Ellerslie AFC (Lotto NRFL Women’s Premiership qualifier)
Southern United (Southern Football federation team)
Wellington Phoenix (allocated academy side)
Western Springs (Lotto NRFL Women’s Premiership qualifier)

More football stories