STREAM: Watch the FIFA Club World Cup draw live from Saudi Arabia

New Zealand champions Auckland City will learn their potential second-round opponents when the draw is made on Tuesday night (NZT) for this year’s FIFA Club World Cup.

Auckland City go into the draw as one of seven clubs to qualify for the tournament to be held in Saudi Arabia in December.

The draw will be streamed live from Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, at 11pm on Tuesday September 5, 2023 (NZT).

READ MORE: Liverpool’s Mo Salah could face Auckland City if transfer deal goes through >>>>

Watch the draw live

STREAM: Click here to watch the draw live >>>>>

Jaime Yarza, Director of FIFA Tournaments, will conduct the draw, with Samantha Johnson presenting the broadcast.

Two former players with experience of the FIFA Club World Cup will help make the draw.

Yaya Toure won a memorable and dramatic final with Barcelona in 2009, soon after which he began a trophy-laden eight-year spell with this year’s European hopefuls, Manchester City.

Manaf Abushugair is a two-time AFC Champions League winner with Al-Ittihad and a veteran of the Saudi outfit’s run to the semi-finals in 2005.

Auckland City’s opponents

Auckland City will play Al-Ittihad in the opening game at the FIFA Club World Cup on December 12.

Auckland City have qualified for the tournament as winners of the OFC Champions League, while Al-Ittihad are hosts.

The winner of the opening game will then face a club that enters at the second round stage, including Japan’s Urawa Red Diamonds, Egypt’s Al Ahly and Mexico’s Club Leon.

Teams going to the FIFA Club World Cup

Only one spot remains open for the tournament, and will go to whichever club is crowned champions of South America.

Teams qualified for the FIFA Club World Cup are:

  • Auckland City, New Zealand (Oceania champions)
  • Al-Ittihad, Saudi Arabia (hosts)
  • Urawa Red Diamonds, Japan (Asia champions)
  • Club Leon, Mexico (North & Central America/Caribbean champions)
  • Al Ahly, Egypt (African champions)
  • Manchester City (European champions)

The seventh and last qualifier will be decided on November 4, when the final of the 2023 Copa Libertadores is held, deciding which club will represent South America.

More football stories