Goalscoring ‘keeper Max Tommy earns Jack Batty Cup for final heroics

posted in: Chatham Cup, News, Recognition

Melville United goalkeeper Max Tommy has been awarded the Jack Batty Cup for his outstanding performance in the Chatham Cup final.

Though he was on the losing side, after Christchurch United won the final on penalties, Tommy made key saves during the match and scored a dramatic equaliser deep in stoppage time to send the game into extra time.

READ MORE: Christchurch United win drama-laden Chatham Cup final in penalty shootout >>>>

Main photo: Max Tommy receives his trophy from Jack Batty’s son, John Batty. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.

Watch Max Tommy’s goal

Jack Batty.

 About the Jack Batty Cup

The Jack Batty Cup is named after a sailor who was in the crew of the HMS Chatham in 1922, when the Royal Navy presented the Chatham Cup to the New Zealand Football Association.

Batty, who was 19 when he arrived in New Zealand, settled in Auckland and was a goalkeeper who won Chatham Cup winners medals with three different clubs — Harbour Board (1924), Tramways (1929) and Tramurewa (1931).

His son, John Batty, won the Chatham Cup with Blockhouse Bay in 1970 and his grandson, Jason Batty, was a Chatham Cup finalist with North Shore United in 1995.

Since 1985, the Player of the Match in the Chatham Cup has been presented with the Jack Batty Cup.

READ MORE: How a young sailor’s love of football became part of Chatham Cup folklore >>>>


Game played on Sunday September 10, 2023

Melville United 2 (Lucca Lim 72′, Max Tommy 90+8′)
Christchurch United 2 (own goals 11′, 35′)
* Christchurch United win 4-2 on penalties after extra time

Jack Batty Cup winners

1985 – Greg Brown (Napier City Rovers)
1986 – Duncan Cole (North Shore United)
1987 – Dave Reynolds (Gisborne City)
1988 – Steve Tate (Waikato United)
1989 – Michael McGarry (Christchurch United)
1990 – Michael McGarry (Christchurch United)
1991 – Dave Woodard (Wellington United)
1992 – Neal Cave (Miramar Rangers)
1993 – Paul Halford (Napier City Rovers)
1994 – Ivan Vicelich (Waitakere City)
1995 – Darren McClennan (Waitakere City)
1996 – Mark Foy (Mount Wellington)
1997 – Ivan Vicelich (Central United)
1998 – Terry Torrens (Central United)

1999 – Aaron Burgess (Dunedin Technical)
2000 – Jimmy Cudd (Napier City Rovers)
2001 – Paul Bunbury (University-Mount Wellington)
2002 – Leon Birnie (Napier City Rovers)
2003 – Kara Waetford (University-Mount Wellington)
2004 – Tim Butterfield (Miramar Rangers)
2005 – Ross Nicholson (Central United)
2006 – Phil Imray (Western Suburbs)
2007 – Luiz del Monte (Central United)
2008 – Ryan Zoghby (East Coast Bays)
2009 – Raf de Gregorio (Wellington Olympic)
2010 – Phil Imray (Miramar Rangers)

2011 – Scott Robson (Wairarapa United)
2012 – Emiliano Tade (Central United)
2013 – Andy Pitman (Cashmere Technical)
2014 – Stuart Kelly (Cashmere Technical)
2015 – Miles John (Napier City Rovers)
2016 – Tom Davis (Birkenhead United)
2017 – Mario Ilich (Central United)
2018 – Alec Solomons (Birkenhead United)
2019 – Sho Goto (Napier City Rovers)
2020 – No award (COVID disruption)
2021 – Yuya Taguchi (Cashmere Technical)
2022 – Dylan Manickum (Auckland City)
2023 – Max Tommy (Melville United)

More football stories