Western Springs skipper Lily Jervis awarded Maia Jackman Trophy

Western Springs captain Lily Jervis has been awarded the Maia Jackman Trophy after being named Player of the Match in the 2023 Kate Sheppard Cup final.

Jervis (25) delivered a true captain’s performance, marshalling her team from the back and inspiring them to finish strongly after Wellington United fought back after the interval.

Springs won the final 2-1 with the winner scored by 15-year-old substitute Ela Jerez in the dying moments of the game.

READ MORE: Young sub scores late winner for Western Springs in Kate Sheppard Cup final >>>>

Jervis’ name will be added to the trophy bearing the names of past winners, who include some of New Zealand’s most accomplished internationals.

Main photo: Lily Jervis receives the trophy from Football Ferns legend Maia Jackman. Photo: Shane Wenzlick / Phototek.


Game played on Sunday September 10, 2023

Western Springs 2 (Sam Tawharu 38′, Ela Jerez 88′)
Wellington United 1 (Jemma Robertson 55′)

Maia Jackman Trophy winners

1996 – Maia Jackman (Lynn-Avon United)
1997 – Maria Wilkie (Three Kings United)
1998 – Maia Jackman (Three Kings United)
1999 – Nicky Smith (Wairarapa United)
2000 – Amanda Crawford (Lynn-Avon United)
2001 – Priscilla Duncan (Ellerslie)
2002 – Yvonne Vale (Lynn-Avon United)
2003 – Sara Clapham (Lynn-Avon United)
2004 – Melissa Ray (Lynn-Avon United)
2005 – Michele Keinzley (Lynn-Avon United)
2006 – Ria Percival (Lynn-Avon United)
2007 – Nicky Smith (Western Springs)
2008 – Kirsty Yallop (Lynn-Avon United)
2009 – Katie Hoyle (Lynn-Avon United)
2010 – Olivia Chance (Claudelands Rovers)

2011 – Steph Skilton (Glenfield Rovers)
2012 – Annalie Longo (Three Kings United)
2013 – Laura Merrin (Coastal Spirit)
2014 – Katie Rood (Glenfield Rovers)
2015 – Estelle Harrison (Glenfield Rovers)
2016 – Tessa Berger (Forrest Hill-Milford United)
2017 – Kate Loye (Glenfield Rovers)
2018 – Shontelle Smith (Dunedin Technical)
2019 – Tayla O’Brien/Erinna Wong (Eastern Suburbs)
2020 – No award (COVID disruption)
2021 – Emma Main (Wellington United)
2022 – Katie Duncan (Auckland United)
2023 – Lily Jervis (Western Springs)

More football stories