Striker Josh Clarkin lands Player of Year award for NRFL Southern Conference

Cambridge forward Josh Clarkin has been named the Player of the Year for the Lotto NRFL Southern Conference.

Clarkin (23) also took out the competition’s Golden Boot with 31 goals, an impressive effort as he missed the four opening games of the 21-round league.

His double award heads a list of senior players recognised through online voting run by WaiBOP Football.

Main photo: Josh Clarkin … scored 31 goals for Cambridge.

2023 Awards

Lotto NRFL Southern Conference

  • POY: Josh Clarkin (Cambridge).
  • Golden Boot: Josh Clarkin — 31 goals.

WaiBOP League One

  • POY: Jamie Walker (Otorohanga).
  • Golden Boot: Peter Shannon (Matamata Swifts) — 19 goals.

WaiBOP W-League

  • POY: Shion Hwang (Melville United).
  • Golden Boot: Shion Hwang — 35 goals.

Lotto NRFL Southern Conference U23

  • POY: David Standing (Waikato Unicol).
  • Golden Boot: Abdul Sulieman (Waikato Unicol) — 19 goals.

2023 Local League Players of the Year

Bay of Plenty

  • Men’s Bay 1: Daniel Courtis (Te Puke United).
  • Men’s Bay 2: Mauro Marchionatti (Tauranga City Juggernauts).
  • Men’s Bay 3/O35s: Federico Artigas (Otumoetai FC).
  • Women’s Bay 1: Maia Moko (Te Puke United).


  • Men’s Waikato Division 1: Ben Wheatley (Melville Mighty A’s).
  • Men’s Waikato Division 2: Jared McCarthy (Cambridge).
  • Men’s Waikato Division 3: Liam Gallagher (Northern United Numpties) & Max Sharplin (Waikato Unicol Gold).
  • Men’s Waikato Division 4: Joseph Cammock (Otorohanga FC).
  • Men’s Waikato O35s: Robbie Greenhalgh (Cambridge FC Seriously Over 35).
  • Women’s Waikato Division 1: Aimee Archibald (Cambridge FC).
  • Women’s Waikato Division 2: Chanelle Sharpe (Waihi AFC).

More football stories