Squad named to represent New Zealand at FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup

A 21-player squad has been named for November’s FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup in Indonesia.

The squad comprises 16 players based in Aotearoa New Zealand and five who play their football overseas, in Australia and England.

Of the squad, 14 played for the New Zealand side that won January’s OFC U-17 Men’s Championship, earning qualification to the World Cup.

Main photo: New Zealand will be one of 24 teams competing for the FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup. Photo credit: FIFA.

New Zealand squad

Josh Brown Western Suburbs, New Zealand
Matt Foord Cashmere Technical, New Zealand
Eamonn McCarron Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand

Luka Coveny Western United, Australia
Noah DuPont West Bromwich Albion, England
Jesper Edwards Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
Dylan Gardiner Hamilton Wanderers, New Zealand
Athan Thompson Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand

Anaru Cassidy Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
Matt D’Hotman Melville United, New Zealand
Paris Domfeh Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
Anton Isaako Sydney FC, Australia
Marley Leuluai Burnley, England
Luke Mitchell Hamilton Wanderers, New Zealand
Nick Murphy Christchurch United, New Zealand
Mac Prathumphithak Christchurch United, New Zealand

Gabriel Sloane-Rodrigues Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
Luke Supyk Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
Stipe Ukich Auckland City, New Zealand
Nathan Walker Fencibles United, New Zealand
Adam Watson Stoke City, England

New Zealand have been drawn in Group F at the tournament with 2019 runners-up Mexico, UEFA European U-17 Championship winners Germany and South America’s fourth-placed qualifier Venezuela.

Men’s U-17 head coach Martin Bullock said:

“After (the) 2021 edition of the FIFA U-17 World Cup was cancelled due to COVID, it is brilliant to be naming a squad representing the best new and emerging Kiwi talent in this age group.

“I’m excited about the group we have assembled for this tournament with a good mix of local talent developed in New Zealand and players with overseas experience.

“This tournament is going to be a really good test for us against some top sides in the group, but this is what we need to continue to develop on the international stage.

“It also represents an amazing opportunity for our players to put themselves in the shop window for clubs around the world and help take that next step in their football development.”

The team will play all games at Si Jalak Harupat Stadium in Bandung.


Game to be played on Sunday November 12, 2023

New Zealand v Venezuela
Si Jalak Harupat Stadium, Bandung (10pm, NZT)

Game to be played on Thursday November 16, 2023 (NZT)

New Zealand v Germany
Si Jalak Harupat Stadium, Bandung (1am, NZT)

Game to be played on Saturday November 18, 2023

New Zealand v Mexico
Si Jalak Harupat Stadium, Bandung (10pm NZT)


Group A


Group B


Group C

IR Iran
New Caledonia

Group D


Group E

Burkina Faso
Korea Republic

Group F

New Zealand


The 24 nations have been split into six groups of four. The top two in each group, along with the four best third-placed teams, will reach the knockout phase.

The knockout stage will have a round of 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals, a third-place play-off and final, where the winners will be crowned in Surakarta.


You can download a PDF of the tournament schedule here >>>>


Tickets are on sale for the tournament:

Past winners

1985: Nigeria
1987: Soviet Union
1989: Saudi Arabia
1991: Ghana
1993: Nigeria
1995: Ghana
1997: Brazil
1999: Brazil
2001: France

2003: Brazil
2005: Mexico
2007: Nigeria
2009: Switzerland
2011: Mexico
2013: Nigeria
2015: Nigeria
2017: England
2019: Brazil

More football stories