New Zealand side reshuffled to play Germany at FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup

New Zealand have made four changes to their starting line-up for their group game against Germany at the FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup.

Head coach Martin Bullock has named Luka Coveny (Western United), Stipe Ukich (Auckland City), Athan Thompson (Wellington Phoenix) and Luke Mitchell (Hamilton Wanderers) in his run-on side.

Coveny did not feature in the opening group game against Venezuela, while the other three came off the bench in the 3-0 loss.

They replace  Anton Isaako (Sydney FC), Matt D’Hotman (Melville United), Nathan Walker (Fencibles United) and Anaru Cassidy (Wellington Phoenix).

Meanwhile, in the other Group F game, Mexico and Venezuela have drawn 2-2, despite Venezuela playing with 10 men for more than half the game after the dismissal of Giovanny José Sequera Sequera in the 40th minute.

Main photo: Jalak Harupat Soreang Stadium, venue of New Zealand’s match against Germany.

READ MORE: New Zealand to face group favourites Germany at FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup >>>>

Starting line-up

1 Matt Foord (GK) (Cashmere Technical)
3. Marley Leuluai (captain), (Burnley)
4 Luka Coveny (Western United)
6. Dylan Gardiner (Hamilton Wanderers)
9 Stipe Ukich (Auckland City)
10. Adam Watson (Stoke City)
11. Luke Supyk (Wellington Phoenix)
13. Noah DuPont (West Bromwich Albion)
14 Nick Murphy (Christchurch United)
15 Athan Thompson (Wellington Phoenix)
20 Luke Mitchell (Hamilton Wanderers)


2. Ryan Lee (North Wellington)
5. Anton Isaako (Sydney FC)
7 Matt D’Hotman (Melville United)
8 Paris Domfeh, (Wellington Phoenix)
12 Josh Brown (GK) (Western Suburbs)
16 Jesper Edwards (Wellington Phoenix)
17. Nathan Walker (Fencibles United)
18 Gabriel Sloane-Rodrigues (Wellington Phoenix)
19. Anaru Cassidy (Wellington Phoenix)
21 Eamonn McCarron (GK) (Wellington Phoenix)


Game to be played on Thursday November 16, 2023

New Zealand v Germany
Si Jalak Harupat Stadium, Bandung (10pm, NZT)


Game played on Wednesday November 15, 2023

Mexico 2 (Stephano Carrillo 62′, Luis Arturo Ortiz Zambrano 67′)
Venezuela 2 (Alejandro Gabriel Cichero Terrero 6′, Nicola Profeta Cabrales 84′, pen)

More football stories