PREVIEW: Must-win game for New Zealand at FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup

New Zealand’s hopes of staying at the FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup depend on them beating Mexico in their final group game, and hoping other results go their way.

New Zealand can go through to the Round of 16 if they are one of the best-performing third-placed teams from their group.

But they face two-time winners Mexico who are making their 15th appearance at a FIFA U-17 World Cup.

They won the tournament in 2005 and in 2011, becoming the first host nation to lift the trophy.

Mexico have also been runners-up twice, including at the last World Cup in 2019.

They qualified for the 2023 tournament in Indonesia by winning the CONCACAF U-17 Men’s Championship — for a record ninth time — beating the United States 3-1 in the final.

Mexico and New Zealand have met only once before at a U-17 World Cup, when the South Americans trounced the Kiwis 5-0 at the Egypt-hosted tournament in 1997.


New Zealand

12 Josh Brown, Western Suburbs, New Zealand
1 Matt Foord, Cashmere Technical, New Zealand
21 Eamonn McCarron, Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand

4 Luka Coveny, Western United, Australia
13 Noah DuPont, West Bromwich Albion, England
16 Jesper Edwards, Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
6 Dylan Gardiner, Hamilton Wanderers, New Zealand
15 Athan Thompson, Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand

19 Anaru Cassidy, Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
7 Matt D’Hotman, Melville United, New Zealand
8 Paris Domfeh, Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
5 Anton Isaako, Sydney FC, Australia
3 Marley Leuluai, Burnley, England
20 Luke Mitchell, Hamilton Wanderers, New Zealand
14 Nick Murphy, Christchurch United, New Zealand
2 Ryan Lee, North Wellington, New Zealand

18 Gabriel Sloane-Rodrigues, Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
11 Luke Supyk, Wellington Phoenix, New Zealand
9 Stipe Ukich, Auckland City, New Zealand
17 Nathan Walker, Fencibles United, New Zealand
10 Adam Watson, Stoke City, England

Head coach: Martin Bullock
Assistant coach: Aaron Clapham
Goalkeeper coach: Daniel Knight


1 Paolo Bedolla, Club América, Mexico
12 Fernando Delgado, Salt Lake City, United States
21 Roberto Moreno, Cruz Azul, Mexico

2 Jose Suarez, Cruz Azul , Mexico
3 Kevin Garcia, Club Santos Laguna, Mexico
4 Luis Navarrete, Deportivo Toluca Fc, Mexico
17 Adrian Fernandez De Lara, Cf America, Mexico
5 Javen Romero, Los Angeles Fc, United States
7 Brandon Lomeli, Club Necaxa, Mexico
13 Adrian Ortellao, Portland Timbers, United States
14 Manuel Sanchez, Pumas Unam, Mexico
20 Francisco Valenzuela, Cf Monterrey, Mexico

6 Isaac Martinez (Captain), Cd Guadalajara, Mexico
8 Jose Urias, Cf Monterrey, Mexico
10 Gael Alvarez, Cf Pachuca, Mexico
11 Fidel Barajas, Charleston Battery, United States
15 Luis Ortiz, Cf Monterrey, Mexico
16 Daniel Vazquez, Club Necaxa, Mexico
8 Jose Urias, Cf Monterrey, Mexico

9 Stephano Carrillo, Club Santos Laguna, Mexico
18 Tahiel Jimenez, Club Santos Laguna, Mexico
19 Mateo Levy, Cruz Azul, Mexico

Head coach: Raul Chabrand
Assistant coach:  Alberto Rodrigues
Assistant coach: Alex Diego
Goalkeeper coach: Rafael Cuevas


Group F

Games to be played on Saturday November 18, 2023

New Zealand v Mexico
Si Jalak Harupat Stadium, Bandung (10pm NZT)

READ MORE: Coach Martin Bullock after Germany loss: ‘We still feel we’re in this World Cup’ >>>>

Germany v Venezuela
Jakarta International Stadium, Jakarta (10pm NZT)

More football stories