PREVIEW: Sydney race to include former star for A-League clash with Phoenix

posted in: A-League (Women), News

Champions Sydney FC have re-signed former star midfielder Mackenzie Hawkesby in time for Friday’s women’s A-League match against in-form Wellington Phoenix.

Hawkesby (23) is a three-time Premiership winner and was named Sydney FC Player of the Year in 2022 before leaving for the United Kingdom where she joined Women’s Super League club Brighton & Hove Albion.

When things didn’t work out in the UK, Sydney sought a transfer which was completed by the Boxing Day deadline, and the A-League champions have included Hawkesby in the squad to face the Phoenix.

Main photo: Mackenzie Hawkesby … has rejoined her former club. Photo credit: Sydney FC social media.

“I’m delighted and excited to be returning to Sydney FC and I am looking forward to getting some match minutes under my belt,” she told the Sydney FC website.

“I can’t wait to get started and to help the girls defend both our titles.

“There is a long way to go this season, we aren’t even a third of the way through, and I am thrilled that I have a chance to make a big contribution to our final season position.”

Head Coach Ante Juric said:

“Mackenzie has been one of the standout performers in the Liberty A-League over the past three or four seasons, and we are very pleased to have her back on board.

“She has so much quality and it’s a huge boost for our squad to have her ready to go for the rest of the season.”

PREVIEW: Phoenix goalkeeper Rylee Foster left out of squad to face champions >>>>


Game to be played on Friday December 29, 2023

Sydney FC v Wellington Phoenix
Allianz Stadium, Sydney, 7pm (NZT)


Wellington Phoenix (four to be omitted)

2. Zoe MCMEEKEN, 3. Kate TAYLOR, 4. Mackenzie BARRY, 6. Macey FRASER, 7. Isabel COX, 9. Kelli BROWN, 10. Alyssa WHINHAM, 11. Hope BRESLIN, 12. Brianna EDWARDS (gk), 13. Michaela FOSTER, 14. Michaela ROBERTSON, 15. Daisy BRAZENDALE, 16. Annalie LONGO (c), 17. Mariana SPECKMAIER, 18. Hailey DAVIDSON, 20. Emma MAIN, 21. Manaia ELLIOTT, 22. Aimee DANIELI (gk), 23. Rebecca LAKE, 26. Tiana JABER.

Unavailable: 1. Rylee FOSTER (gk) (injured), 5. Marisa VAN DER MEER (injured), 8. Grace WISNEWSKI (injured), 19. Liv INGHAM (injured).

Sydney FC (six to be omitted)

1. Jada WHYMAN (gk), 2. Margaux CHAUVET, 3. Charlotte MCLEAN, 4. Tori TUMETH, 5. Kirsty FENTON, 6. Lucy JOHNSON, 7. Teigan COLLISTER, 9. Shea CONNORS, 11. Cortnee VINE, 13. Aideen KEANE, 14. Abbey LEMON, 15. Mackenzie HAWKESBY, 16. Jordan THOMPSON, 17. Jynaya DOS SANTOS, 18. Taylor RAY, 19. Zara KRUGER, 20. Princess IBINI (c), 21. Shay HOLLMAN, 22. Indiana DOS SANTOS, 23. Fiona WORTS, 26. Maddie CASPERS, 30. Tahlia FRANCO (gk).

Unavailable: 12. Nat TOBIN (injured).

More football stories

[adrotate banner=”139″]
[adrotate banner=”89″]
[adrotate banner=”86″]